Irish Colcannon

 

Here’s another recipe to consider for your St. Patrick’s Day feast!  This side dish is really nothing more complicated than mashed potatoes with cabbage and onions stirred in.  But it’s easy and delicious, and do you really need any more reason than that to make it? 🙂

Again, I am not an expert on Irish cooking, this is just the way I make and I’ve enjoyed it this way for many years.  I hope that you’ll give it a try too!

It’s especially nice with the bacon stirred in, but often I’ll leave the bacon out if I’m feeling lazy and just cook the cabbage and onions in a little bacon grease for flavor.  Mmm pork fat.  Gotta love it.

The traditional way to serve colcannon is to make a well in the middle of each serving, then drop a pat of butter in.  Eat from the outside in, dipping each forkful into the butter in the middle.

Until next time, happy cooking! 🙂

Irish Colcannon

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 lbs potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 head green cabbage, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 slices bacon OR a few Tb bacon grease

Directions:

Boil potatoes until tender.  Drain and mash with butter and milk.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

While potatoes are boiling, fry up the bacon then crumble and set aside, leaving the drippings in the pan.  Or just melt a few tablespoons of bacon grease in the skillet.  Add the cabbage and onions, cooking until softened.  Fold into the mashed potatoes.  Add the bacon as well, if using.

3 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Vegetables

3 responses to “Irish Colcannon

  1. I can’t pronounce it, but it sounds lovely.

  2. I made colcannon for the first time recently and loved it. I always have a little cup of bacon fat in my fridge that I’ve saved. Makes everything taste so good.

  3. I eat colcannon out whenever we go to our favourite pub. Have never made it at home though. Too bad, because I just love it!

Leave a Reply

