Irish Soda Bread

St. Patrick’s Day is almost upon us, and I want to share a few of my favorite recipes for those of you planning an Irish feast!  I am very proud of my own Irish heritage, but even if you’re not Irish yourself, well you know what they say, everyone’s Irish on St. Patrick’s Day 😉

As a teenager, I became fascinated with stories of Irish myths and legends  and I still am.  How I would love to step into that magical world, even if just for a moment, and see the mighty hero Cu Chulainn in his battle fury (said to be frightening indeed!) or the warrior Fionn mac Cumhaill leading the Fianna to victory.

And someday I’ll make it to Ireland and stand on the hill of Tara just as the high kings of Ireland did so long ago.  I may be old and need a walker to get myself up there by that time, but gosh darnit, I’ll make it!

I think few foods are as closely associated with Ireland as soda bread.  I’m no expert on Irish food, but this is how I make my soda bread and it’s delicious, if I do say so myself.  Every time I make it I think to myself, I should make this more often!  And then 6 months or a year goes by.  But I really should make it more often!

It’s said that the cross in the bread is meant to ward off the devil, or possibly to let the fairies out.  Personally, I like the idea of releasing the fairies before baking since goodness knows, I wouldn’t want to bake the wee poor things 😉

So here’s my recipe for Irish soda bread.  Tomorrow I’ll be sharing another recipe for St. Patrick’s Day.  Enjoy!

Irish Soda Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tb butter
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Directions:

Stir together the dry ingredients.  Cut butter in until mixture resembles fine crumbs.  Add raisins.  Stir in buttermilk just enough so that dough leaves the sides of the bowl. 

Turn out onto a floured surface and knead 1-2 minutes, or until fairly smooth.  Shape into a round loaf, about 6 1/2 inches in diameter.  Place on a baking sheet.

Using a floured knife, cut a cross about 1/2 inch deep through loaf.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35-45 minutes, or until golden brown.  Brush with softened butter, if desired.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

3 Comments

Filed under Breads

3 responses to “Irish Soda Bread

  1. I’ve never made Irish soda bread, nor have I ever eaten it! Believe it or not. I was thinking of making it for St. Patty’s Day this year. You’ve convinced me to make it!

  2. In the Leesburg Daily Commercial a nice lady Mary RYDER has a daily column which you may want to see. Her latest recipe is for OKRA a new way to cook and enjoy. http://www.SimplyDessertsShoppe.com
    I just have to try those Biscuits. Thanks

Leave a Reply

