“Famous” Baked Beans

Hello everyone!  Today I want to share an easy, delicious crockpot baked bean recipe.  The recipe comes from this cookbook:

I’ve been making these beans for quite a few years, and they really are very good.  Now, I do have my favorite recipe for baked beans posted here, and if you’re looking for a great baked bean side dish I think those are perfect.  This recipe I would consider more of a main dish because it has ground beef in it.  I just make some cornbread or garlic bread and salads to go with and it’s a complete meal.

I know liquid smoke is an ingredient that many of you may not have in your pantry and while I often will just leave an ingredient out of a recipe if I don’t have it or substitute something else, in this case it is the one ingredient that absolutely makes this dish.  Whatever you do, don’t leave it out! 

Are we clear now on the importance of the liquid smoke?  Okay, good 🙂

Yum yumm!

Give these a try, I think you’ll really like them.  And until next time, happy cooking 🙂

“Famous” Baked Beans

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 4 15-oz. cans baked beans
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 Tb liquid smoke
  • 1 Tb Worcestershire sauce

Directions:

Brown ground beef along with onions in skillet.  Drain off the fat then transfer to the crockpot.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Cover and cook on low for 5-6 hours (or longer).

2 Comments

Filed under Beans, Beef, Crockpot Meals

2 responses to ““Famous” Baked Beans

  1. Cat, these look terrific!!! I’ve never used liquid smoke before I’ll take your word that it must be used for these. :o) I love that these are cooked in the crock pot too.

Leave a Reply

