Cat’s Beef Chimichangas

When I write up my meal plans I usually ask Jay if he has any special requests, and usually he just says whatever I want to make will be fine.  I’m fortunate to have a husband who isn’t terribly picky.  But this time he had a request, which was tacos.  And since he so rarely makes requests, I like to accomodate him when he does.  He’s fortunate to have a wife like that.

All I had, though, were some flour tortillas on the verge of going freezer burnt.  So what’s a girl to do when her husband wants crispy tacos and she only has flour tortillas?  She makes chimichangas! Jay loved these and even took the leftovers for lunch the next two days.

These are really easy to make, and they can even be made ahead of time and popped into the freezer for later, which you can’t do with tacos.  Another bonus! 

You can do just the seasoned beef and cheese, but I decided to add a little onion, bell pepper,  jalapeno pepper, and pinto beans too.  That’s half an orange pepper and half a green pepper, btw.  I happened to have both and I thought two colors would be purtier than one.

Put a good amount of this mixture in each tortilla along with a sprinkle of cheese, then tuck in the ends and roll them up like a burrito. 

Place them in a baking dish or sheet and coat with cooking spray. 

Just let them bake until they’re browned and crispy enough to your liking.  I flipped mine over halfway through to make sure they got crispy on all sides.

Serve with sour cream, salsa, and whatever else you’d like.  Delicious!

Until next time, happy cooking! 🙂

Cat’s Beef Chimichangas

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 pkg taco seasoning
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or to taste)
  • 6-8 burrito-sized flour tortillas
  • sour cream, salsa or your choice of condiments

Directions:

Brown ground beef in skillet along with the onion, bell pepper, and jalapeno pepper.  Drain off any grease.  Stir in the taco seasoning and pinto beans.  Remove from heat.

Put a good amount of the beef mixture in the center of each tortilla.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Tuck in each end, then roll up like a burrito.  Place in a baking dish or sheet.  Spray with cooking spray.

Bake at 400 degrees until browned and crispy.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

4 Comments

Filed under Beef

4 responses to “Cat’s Beef Chimichangas

  1. Mmmmm…..these sound GREAT!!! Although I would have to use green chilis instead of the jalepenos, my husband doesn’t like them, but he loves Mexican food so this will definitely be one I give a try. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Okay, this is a CRAZY question I know, but…..what kind of tortillas do you buy? Last week I bought some, and yesterday made quesadillas and my husband said my tortillas were too “thin”, and not “floury” (if that’s even a word!) enough. After looking at your photo of the chimichangas, the tortillas you used, do look thicker than mine. (or maybe I’m just nuts! LOL!)

    • Actually, the tortillas I use are a bit thin so it must be just the picture! I buy the large wrap-style tortillas, but I think the smaller fajita and soft taco-style ones are usually a little thicker, so maybe try those instead next time 🙂

  3. i love that these aren’t fried…and on whole wheat tortilla…this takes one of my favorites and makes it more healthy. thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club.

Leave a Reply

