Happy Valentine’s Day!

Okay okay, I know it’s not until tomorrow, but I’m going to go ahead now and wish you all a wonderful day with someone special! 🙂

If I’m being quite honest, I’ve never really gotten into the whole Valentine’s Day thing.  It’s not that I’m not a romantic person, but why should there be one particular day out of the year for romance?  Jay and I show how much we love one another every day, which is how it should be, right? 🙂  I don’t need a special gift or flowers to feel loved. 

You know, Jay and I did not start out with a conventional relationship.  With me in the US and him in Canada, we spent the first couple years seeing each other no more than a few days at a time every couple months.  Boy, when I look back I think how in the world did we survive that??  So I’m sure y’all can understand when I say that, for us, the greatest gift is just being together on this day.  

Valentine’s Day is really just an excuse for me to make even more sweet goodies than usual, which Jay certainly doesn’t complain about!  😀

I didn’t have any recipes of my own that I made, or I would certainly share them.  The recipes I made came straight from other blogs, and I want to highlight them because they were both delicious!  

These Mama’s Milk Dunkin’ M & M Cookies from Southern Plate were just perfect!  I’m not usually an impulsive person, but as soon as I saw these I decided I had to make them.  I got some Valentine’s smarties (basically Canadian m & m’s) the very next day and whipped these up.  Jay came home from work while I was baking them, and snatched one right off the pan!

And for something a little extra special, I also made these red velvet cream cheese swirl brownies from greens and chocolate.  Aren’t they so purty??  I just love that red color.  And oh my, are they ever good!

These treats would be great today for Valentine’s or for any day of the year.  I know I won’t be limiting them to just one day!

And if money’s tight or you just want to make something simple but filled with love, these Heart-Shaped Cakes from The Little House Cookbook are wonderful. 

Until next time, Happy Cooking! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Happy Valentine Day. GAry and Liz just came by for a visit. We had a good time talking .
    Wish you were here and out of all that cold weather. It was 32 here this morning but warmer during the day. Good FLORIDA Sunshine

Leave a Reply

