Baked Blueberry French Toast

Rarely does a week go by in my house where we don’t have some sort of breakfast for dinner.  Breakfast foods are just plain yummy!  And when you think about it, most are them are very economical too.  Pancakes, french toast, and omelettes don’t exactly require any outrageously expensive ingredients.  Well, I guess that depends on what you add to them.  We keep things simple here 🙂

This recipe takes things up a notch from just plain french toast and I think you’ll love it!  I especially love the addition of nutmeg, which is my favorite spice. While the recipe calls for blueberries, you can really use any fruit that you’d like or have on hand.  Strawberries would be nice.  Or peaches.  Ahh yummy, juicy peaches…

Why, oh why,can’t it be summer already??  I don’t know about y’all, but I am just sick and tired of winter.  Back home in south Florida, we get so excited when the weather gets cool enough that we actually have to wear a jacket.  And now here, in Canada’s most northerly major city (I read that little fact in a book recently), what I wouldn’t give for just one day of gloriously warm, sunny weather!  I think just to lift up my face and feel that warm sun on my skin would be heaven right about now. 

These last few months of winter are a tough time of year for this Southern gal.  Sometimes I get so cranky and mopey I just have to have a good cry.  But y’all won’t make fun, right?  I knew you wouldn’t 🙂  With the crazy weather everyone has been getting this winter, I’m sure many of you feel the same as me!

But we’ll get through it, won’t we?  This darned ol’ winter can’t last forever!

I hope y’all enjoy this recipe, and until next time, happy cooking 🙂

Baked Blueberry French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 loaf French bread, cut into 1/2 inch thick slices
  • 4 cups blueberries
  • 4 Tb butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar

Directions:

Whisk together the eggs, vanilla, milk, and nutmeg.  Place the bread slices in a large baking dish and pour the egg mixture over.  Let it sit while you make up the berry sauce.

In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Add the blueberries, cinnamon, and sugar.  Cook over medium heat for a few minutes, until the sugar is dissolved and the berries have softened.

Pour into a greased 13×9 baking dish.  Take the bread slices, which should have soaked up all the egg mixture by now, and place them on top of the berries.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until puffed and golden brown.  Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

This recipe is being shared with:

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Casseroles, Fruit

3 responses to “Baked Blueberry French Toast

  1. Hi!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and thanks so much for the Stylish Blogger award. You may see my post at http://therickettchronicles.blogspot.com/2011/02/stylish-blogger-award.html.

    Thanks again and I can’t wait to try your granola bar recipe. We are big granola lovers here.

    Wende

  2. I’ll have to try this.

Leave a Reply

