Cat’s Quick Kitchen Tip: Easy Square Biscuits

This is the first installment of a new feature I’m starting on my blog!  I’m sure all of you, like me, are always happy to find new tips and tricks to help you out in the kitchen.  So when I have a way of doing something that makes my life easier in the kitchen, I’ve decided to pass along the knowledge to y’all.  Sharing is caring, right? 🙂

I love eating biscuits.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, doesn’t matter.  But when I get home from work in the evening and am hungry and want to eat now, I don’t want to have to do a lot of fussing around making them.  So while I love this recipe and the wonderful, flaky biscuits it produces, sometimes I just need to resort to a quicker method.

Enter the square biscuit method!  To make them, I simply put my dough out on the counter, give it a few kneads until it comes together, and pat it out (or you can use a rolling pin) into a square.  Then I take my pizza cutter and cut the dough into squares.  Pop them into the oven to bake, and that’s it!  With very little time and effort, I’ve got biscuits to go with that bowl of soup or stew I’ve got planned for dinner.

I love this method for the fact that it’s quicker and easier, of course, but most importantly, all the dough gets used up in one shot.  I don’t know about y’all, but I hate having to gather up the scraps leftover from the first pass, roll them back out, and cut out more biscuits.  Making the biscuits square completely eliminates that step.  Yay!

Give this method a try sometime.  It might just become your favorite way to make biscuits! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Quick Kitchen Tips

5 responses to “Cat’s Quick Kitchen Tip: Easy Square Biscuits

  1. What a GREAT idea!!!!! I also checked out the biscuit recipe you recommended on Food Wishes……YUUUUMMMMM….. sounds sooooo good, they will definitely be on my menu for Saturday breakfast! Thanks for sharing, and thanks again for the “Stylish Me” nomination!

  2. Square biscuits — brilliant idea! You just can’t beat homemade flaky biscuits, in any shape 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh these biscuits look INCREDIBLE. Fantastic picture! Oh I can just taste them right now! Big weakness for biscuits and bread of any kind! Great post!

Leave a Reply

