The Best Granola Bars

I did it, I finally did it!  I finally got my husband to do the dishes and laundry for me, you ask??  Well no, I haven’t quite gotten that lucky yet (I wish!). 

But I did find the perfect granola bar recipe.  I tried making homemade granola bars quite some time ago, but they kept coming out either too crispy or crumbly, or something just wasn’t right.  So I gave up.  Then last weekend, when there weren’t any granola bars on sale for a good price at the store, I decided to give them a try again. 

Jay goes thru a lot of granola bars since he works in construction and needs snacks that he can pick up and eat on the go.  His one stipulation was that they be chewy.  I chose this recipe from Allrecipes since I had all the ingredients and it had gotten really good reviews.  They were sooo good!  I made them for Jay, but I think I ate close to half of them myself.  I guess I’ll just have to make some more!

They had the perfect amount of chewyness.  Jay definitely approved.  And I love that I know exactly what ingredients went into making them.  This recipe is so versatile too, I’m already thinking of different variations I want to make.  I hope you give them a try too and enjoy them as much as we did.

Until next time, happy cooking! 🙂

The Best Granola Bars

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ (all I had was wheat bran, so I used that)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I used pecans)
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 13×9 baking pan with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, stir together the oats and next 7 ingredients (flour thru walnuts).  In another bowl whisk together the wet ingredients.  Pour into the oats mixture and stir until everything is well coated.

Spoon into prepared baking pan.  At this point, I found it easiest to wet my hands a little (so they wouldn’t stick to the mixture) and press the mixture firmly into the pan.  This will ensure that the bars stay together nicely and don’t come out crumbly.

Bake 25-30 minutes, or until golden around the edges.  Cool completely before turning out and cutting into bars.

This recipe is being shared with:

4 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Cookies and Candies

4 responses to “The Best Granola Bars

  1. Those look really tasty!! I like their base of honey rather than peanut butter.

  2. I love making granola bars. Your recipe sounds wonderful.

    I’m hosting a weekly link up called Sweet Tooth Friday. I’d love to have you share your recipe. http://alli-n-son.com/2011/02/10/spicy-chocolate-chip-cookies/

  3. Diane

    These are so good! I made some and took them to work, and had so many requests for the recipe. Yum- love the chewyness.

Leave a Reply

