Homemade Bagels

Yes, you can make your own bagels!  If you’ve got the basics of bread-making down pat, these will be easy peasy for you to make.  And if you’re not so comfortable with bread-making, well I’m going to include step-by-step instructions for you.  I hope this will encourage some of you to give these bagels a try! 🙂

I suppose you could call these honey whole-wheat bagels if you want.  They’re just my standard recipe that I use.  You can add cinnamon and raisins, orange zest and dried cranberries (yum!), shredded cheese, chocolate chips, whatever you want.  Or sprinkle poppy seeds, sesame seeds, or dried minced onion on top before baking. Be creative!  For this demonstration, I’m sticking to just the basic recipe. 

In a large bowl stir together the yeast, hot water, honey, salt, and 1 cup whole-wheat flour.

Now mix in the remaining flour until the dough comes together.  I admit I was lazy and let my mixer do the work for me.  No, I do not have a fancy Kitchenaid mixer.  Yes, I’m just fine with that. 

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth.  Or continue to be lazy and let your mixer do the kneading.  It should look something like this.

Now just cover that up and put it in a warm place to rise until doubled.  Once it’s through rising, you’re ready to plunk it down on the counter and get to shaping some bagels!

You want to pinch off portions of dough now and roll them into balls, somewhere between golf ball and tennis ball size.  The easiest way I’ve found to shape the bagels is to just punch a whole through the middle of the ball with your finger, like this.

Stretch the hole out a little bit until it looks like this.

You’ve just made a bagel!  Now keep going until you’ve got a whole pan of lovely bagels.

Cover them up and let them rest for 20 minutes.  Once they’ve rested, it’s time to give them a little water bath (this is what makes them chewy!).  Bring a large pot of water to a simmer (I use my “chicken fryer” pan), then place your bagels in the water.

Let them simmer 1 minute on each side.  Take them out and set them on paper towels or tea towels to drain for a few minutes.  If you have a pair of tongs, they’ll really work best here.

Transfer them to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Brush the tops with the egg wash.  Now they’re ready to bake!  I forgot to snap a picture at this step before putting them in the oven, so just use your imagination.  But here they are just out of the oven.  Look at those beautiful bagels!

This may seem  a little strange, but one of my favorite ways to eat a warm bagel is dipped into yogurt, like this.  Give it a try sometime!

Until next time, happy cooking! 🙂

Homemade Bagels

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 cups flour (I use half whole-wheat, half all-purpose)
  • 1 pkg active dry yeast
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups very warm water (120-130 degrees)
  • 2 Tb honey
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tsp water

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix together 1 cup whole-wheat flour, yeast, water, salt, and honey.  Stir in enough remaining flour to form a ball.  Turn dough out onto a floured surface, and knead until smooth.  Place dough in a greased bowl.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size.

Turn dough out onto the counter and pinch off small balls of dough (golf ball to tennis ball size).  Using your finger, poke a hole in the center.  Gently stretch the hole out until it’s about 1 inch in diameter.  Place onto a baking pan.  Repeat with remaining dough.  Cover the bagels and let them rest for 20 minutes.

Bring a large, shallow pot of water to a simmer.  Drop the bagels in.  Cook 1 minute, then flip and cook 1 more minute.  Place on paper towels or a tea towel to drain.

Heat oven to 375 degrees.  Place bagels on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Whisk together the egg white and 1 tsp water.  Using a pastry brush, brush the tops of each bagel with the egg wash.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

10 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch

10 responses to “Homemade Bagels

  1. Yuuuuummmmmmm…..I love bagels, and these look AMAZING! I’m definitely gonna give these a try! Thanks for sharing :0)

  2. amy

    Seems pretty easy to make and I always wanted to try at home. Thanks for reminding! 🙂

  3. Your homemade Bagels look awesome. I would like to invite you to bring them to Full Plate Thursday, the liky is open all week end. Thank you for sharing and you have a great week end!

  4. wow…these look great! i remember making bagels in culinary school and it seemed so difficult..that i have never done it again! reading your recipe gives me hope that maybe i can do it 🙂 thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club!

  5. I am definitely trying this recipe. I’ve been looking at several bagel recipes, but the instructions tell you to let them rest for hours and hours. This is much faster, and they look wonderful. I’ll let you know how it turns out! 🙂

  6. I was so excited to see that you did bring your wonderful homemade bagels over for us to enjoy. Thank you so much for coming to Full Plate Thursday. You have a great week end and please come back!

  7. These look so great and though I’m very scared of them, your pictures make them look almost easy. I’m tempted to try.

  8. I would love to have one with a cup of tea! If you have any warm drink recipes, come link them up to my warm drinks and good reads party! http://goodbyecityhellosuburbs.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

