Emeril Lagasse’s Red Beans and Rice

Howdy everyone!  My, what a strange winter this has been.  After super cold temperatures, it’s actually raining today. RAINING in January!  Where I live that’s just crazy.  I had to go out to a doctor’s appointment this morning and didn’t realize that the rain would end up making the packed down snow in the parking lots very slick.  Let’s just say I had several arms and legs flailing everywhere moments as I kept slipping and trying not to fall flat on my behind.  Good thing it was early in the morning and there weren’t many people out and about yet to see me!

Now let’s talk about about this recipe! Cajun cooking is not something we ever had when I was growing up, that’s just not the part of the South my family is from.  But I don’t think I would have complained if they had been because I LOVE Cajun foods.  Jambalaya, gumbo, you name it, I love it.  I love the flavors that go into the foods from that region.

Red beans and rice is probably my favorite Cajun dish, though.  And I just found out something new about Jay after making this.  All this time I thought he just had a general hatred for all bean dishes, but turns out he actually will eat them and (*gasp*) kinda like them when there’s rice mixed in!  I’ll have to keep that in mind for the future.

As you can tell from the title, this is not my own recipe, but it’s my favorite version.  I may not be a big fan of the man himself, but I’ve never met an Emeril Lagasse recipe I didn’t like.  It’s a cinch to make, it’s economical, and if you have a bean-hating family member like I do, they might just actually like it too!

Happy cooking! 🙂

Emeril Lagasse’s Red Beans and Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb red beans (or kidney beans), soaked overnight
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 3 Tb minced garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 lb chopped ham
  • 6 ounces smoked sausage, sliced

Directions:

Cook onion and next 6 ingredients in a large pot until softened.  Add the bay leaves, ham, and sausage.  Cook until the ham and sausage start to brown.  Add the beans and enough water to cover (about 8 cups).  Simmer, uncovered, for 2 hours.  Using a large spoon or a potato masher, mash up about half of the beans.  Simmer, uncovered, for another 1 1/2 hours, adding more water if it starts to get too thick.

This can also be cooked in the crockpot.  If cooking it that way, I like to brown the ham and sausage first still (more flavor that way), but everything else I just throw in as is and let it cook away.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

6 Comments

Filed under Beans, Pork

6 responses to “Emeril Lagasse’s Red Beans and Rice

  1. I’m not a big fan of him either – although I’m sure he’s a very nice person. There’s just something about him on camera that I don’t enjoy watching. Hence I don’t have any of his books, but I made a recipe of his for a hot potato salad that was utterly out of this world. No doubt the guy is an excellent chef. You can find the potato salad on my blog if you’re interested.

    http://butteryum.blogspot.com/2009/06/hot-potato-salad-with-bacon-and-ham.html

  2. Thanks for linking up to the It’s a Keeper Thursday blog hop! I hope you come back next week and link something new!

    Have a great weekend!

    It’s a Keeper
    http://www.everydaytastes.com/
    http://twitter.com/itsakeeperblog
    http://www.facebook.com/ItsAKeeper

  3. I love it when I find someone else that loves the Prairies as much as I do. Thank you for sharing @ Prairie Story… and please come by to pick up your Award! http://prairiestory.blogspot.com/2011/01/stylish-blogger-award.html

  4. Pingback: New Feature: It’s a Keeper Thursday!

Leave a Reply

