Chicken Wild Rice Soup

I’ve been making quite a few soups and stews lately.  On the night that I made this soup last week it was -22 degrees F outside.  Brrr that’s cold!  So hot soups and stews are what my tummy just keeps gravitating towards, I guess.   Eventually I’ll get tired of it all and start making chicken salad and gazpacho and refuse to look out the window because I’m pretending it’s actually spring!

I also love soups and stews because they’re the ultimate one-pot meal, and they’re great for using up odds and ends of produce and/or meats.  I don’t know about you, but I love being able to throw everything into a pot and just let it cook away!

This soup is one that I jotted down from my mom’s recipe box quite some time ago and never got around to trying.  I wish I hadn’t waited so long because it’s delicious!  I don’t like to buy too much in the way of boxed and pre-packaged foods, but I’ll definitely buy Uncle Ben’s to make this again.

I didn’t have any mushrooms, and I don’t much care for them anyway, so I rooted around in my deep freeze to see what else I could come up with instead.  I found a small bag of asparagus that I had blanched and frozen a while back before it could go bad.  It was perfect in this soup, and as a bonus I was able to use up something from my deep freeze!  I think broccoli would be nice as well, and that’s something I’m more likely to have on hand than asparagus.

Or just use mushrooms if you really like them.  Either way, I hope you enjoy!

Chicken Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Uncle Ben’s long-grain and wild rice mix
  • 1 cup EACH chopped onions, celery, carrots
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3 cups chopped, cooked chicken
  • 8 ounces sliced fresh mushrooms (or frozen asparagus or broccoli)
  • 2 cups water
  • 30 ounces chicken broth
  • 12-ounce can evaporated milk

Directions:

Cook rice mix according to package directions.  Set aside.

In a large pot, saute onion, celery, carrots, and garlic until softened.  Stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  Stir in all remaining ingredients, except for the cooked rice.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, and simmer for 30 minutes.  Stir in the rice and cook for another 10 minutes, or until heated through.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

6 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Soups/Stews

6 responses to “Chicken Wild Rice Soup

  1. I was at Sam’s today eyeing the Panera version of this soup thinking that I really, really wanted some, but at the same time was sure that I could make it so much better. I think you’ve provided me with the recipe to do just that!

  2. Mmmmmmm….this looks so yummy and comforting, especially if its -22 degrees!!!! I thought it was cold here in Kentucky at 20 degrees! LOL! Thanks for sharing :0)

  3. This recipe looks amazing! I would love for you to link this or any of your recipes to my blog hop @ It’s a Keeper Thursdays. http://www.everydaytastes.com/

    Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

