Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins (or Bread!)

Some people like their coffee in a mug, only a mug, and refuse to try anything else that even remotely has coffee flavoring. 

Then there are people like me.  People who love just about anything coffee-flavored.  Which is kinda odd I suppose, considering that I never even drank coffee on a regular basis until a few years ago.  *Shrug*

I was actually searching for a spinach quiche recipe which led me to this lovely blog, My Homemade Life, and a further poke around there led me to these absolutely delicious muffins.  What caught my eye was the Starbucks instant coffee packets called for.  A co-worker gave me a few a while back, and they’ve just been sitting in the pantry next to all my herbal teas.  So I thought this would be a great way to finally use them.

Now, y’all know I’m all about being thrifty in the kitchen, and if I hadn’t had the Starbucks I would absolutely have just pulled out my old jar of store brand instant coffee.  But if you’re a bit pickier than I am, well then you just use whatever makes you happy 😉  You’ll need a couple tablespoons worth.

And because I was feeling lazy, I decided to bake these in my new 8×4 loaf pan that I got for my birthday.  Doubling the recipe would really have given me a more substantial loaf, but taste is more important than looks, right?  And this recipe was sooo good!  The flavor of the coffee and chocolate, and oh my!  So yummy!

If you’re a lover of coffee and chocolate, you’ve got to try this! 

Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins (slightly adapted from this recipe)

Ingredients:

  • 2 pkgs Starbucks instant coffee
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Combine the instant coffee with the warm milk, stirring until the coffee is completely dissolved.  Whisk together the coffee/milk mixture along with the egg, oil, and vanilla.

In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  Gently stir in the wet mixture, stirring just until moistened.  Spoon into greased mini-muffin tin, regular muffin tin, or loaf pan (whatever makes you happy!). 

Bake at 350 degrees until a toothpick inserted comes out clean (this will vary according to what you bake the batter in.  My loaf took about 18-20 minutes).

2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch

2 responses to “Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins (or Bread!)

  1. All you have to say is chocolate and I’m all over it. These look so moist and I bet that espresso powder really adds a nice punch to the chocolate flavor. I have a linky on my blog every Saturday called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by this weekend and link this up.

Leave a Reply

