Traditional Chili

 

For some people, chili-making seems to be more like a science project (or art form?) than just a simple recipe for good food.  Have you ever looked at some of those competition/cook-off chili recipes?  My goodness, they look so complicated and involved I’d be scared to even try them for fear I’d make a mistake!

I, on the other hand, don’t really have a special chili recipe that’s my absolute favorite.  I’ve tried many recipes over the years, some that I’ve liked, and some that, well, let’s just say I’d prefer not to make again.  I’ve come to the conclusion that I like my chili best when it’s simple and uncomplicated, and I dont have to go out and buy a whole bunch of special spices and ingredients for it.

This recipe that I’m sharing with y’all today has been my main go-to recipe for a while now.  It makes a large pot of chili using ingredients you probably already have on hand, or at least won’t have trouble finding. 

It’s also a great meat stretcher.  Though the full recipe calls for 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef, you could lower that to 1 lb and the chili will still be great.  As part of my Pantry Challenge, I dug out some ground buffalo that was given to us by Jay’s grandma several years ago and is still languishing in the deep freeze (though I have used up most of it by now).  I’m very picky about my meat, so if I have something more unusual like buffalo I like to mix it with a familiar flavor like ground beef.  So I used 1 lb of ground beef and 1/2 lb buffalo. 

To change things up a bit, we also ate our chili over baked potatoes with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese on top.  With the leftovers, I actually diced up the remaining cold baked potatoes and stirred them right into the chili, and I think I liked that even better!  I froze half the chili for later, and in a few weeks I’ll bring it out to make some Cincinnatti-style chili with.

I hope you enjoy this chili! 🙂

Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 3 (16 ounce) cans diced tomatoes
  • 2 (16 ounce) cans kidney beans  (I used pinto & kidney)
  • 2 Tb chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Directions:

Brown ground beef in a Dutch oven along with the onions, bell pepper, celery, and garlic.  Drain off fat.  Stir in all remaining ingredients.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low, and simmer for 40-50 minutes or until flavors are blended.

This recipe is being shared with:

2 Comments

Filed under Beef, Soups/Stews

2 responses to “Traditional Chili

  1. Grandaughter:
    How you make my mouth water!
    I will have to try that chili. We had a big pot of home cooked green baby limas tgoday with cornbread. Liz called so we invited her to eat with us.
    We had a big bowl to take to a friend and her husband who have been sick.
    MawsMAw is a great Georgia Cook .

    • That sounds wonderful! Fresh lima beans are one of my favorite foods. How I wish I could get my hands on some up here in Canada! The simplest foods really are the best, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

