Spiced Cranberry Applesauce

I love making homemade applesauce (you can find my favorite recipe here).  It’s one of those things that’s so easy to make and tastes WAY better than anything you can buy at the store.  I just about always have a few jars stashed away in the freezer.  I especially love to serve it with quiches and breakfast casseroles, and it’s also great for when you need just a little something else still to go with dinner. 

 I recently had some apples in the fridge that needed using up and after coming across a recipe for cranberry applesauce, I decided to take elements from it to add to my standard applesauce and create something a little different.  It was a delicious variation!  And if you happened to stock up on clearance-priced cranberries over the holidays this would be a great recipe to use them in.  I had intended to buy some more myself but forgot, and truthfully, I still have a few bags from last year in my deep freeze!

One last thing to mention regarding the type of apples you use.  In my standard applesauce recipe I have posted, I have listed Granny Smith apples as the type called for simply because that’s what the cookbook the recipe is found uses.  I have always used McIntosh apples, though, as they’re my favorite, but feel free to use whatever is your favorite.  Also, I have not altered the amount of sugar called for, but since the cranberries will add more tartness to the applesauce, taste and add more sugar if it’s too tart for you.

 

Spiced Cranberry Applesauce

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 lbs Granny Smith apples, peeled & sliced
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tb lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice

Directions:

Add all ingredients to the crockpot.  Stir to get all the sugar and spices mixed in well.  Cover and cook on high for 2-3 hours (depending on the firmness of your apples).  Using a potato masher, mash to the consistency you prefer.

2 Comments

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Fruit, Side Dishes

2 responses to “Spiced Cranberry Applesauce

  1. I’m planning on making applesauce this weekend, and even though I don’t have any cranberries, I like how your recipe uses cloves and allspice in addition to the cinnamon. I just may borrow this!

Leave a Reply

