Minestrone Soup

Baby, it’s cold outside!  After a relatively mild couple of days (mild for this time of year here being anything approaching the freezing mark or above), the snow started Friday afternoon and, as of tonight, it’s still snowing. Along with the snow the temperature tanked.  The high for tomorrow is 3 degrees F and it’s forecasted to drop further as the week goes on.  Here are some pictures I snapped this morning.

Jay and I have such different reactions when it comes to the snow, too, especially in regards to driving in it.  If he turns a corner and the Jeep slides in the snow, he goes, “Weee!” (I’m not kidding, he actually says that) while I squeeze my eyes shut and makes various terrified noises.  When it snows outside I just want to hunker down and hibernate until it goes away!

If it’s cold outside where you are too, then here’s a soup for you that’ll help stave off that winter chill.  I found this recipe in a cookbook I bought recently called Once-A-Month-Cooking Family Favorites.  I don’t plan to do any OAMC myself, but the book does have lots of tips on storing foods properly in the freezer, and since I do often freeze a few things here and there, I’ve found it to be pretty helpful in that way. 

This Minestrone recipe caught my eye because I’ve never come across one before that called for adding pepperoni.  I love pepperoni (don’t we all?), so I thought, let’s give it a try!  It turned out really yummy, and I loved the flavor of the pepperoni in it. 

One thing to mention is that it came out quite thick, which was fine for the first bowl of soup.  But with the leftovers, I needed to add a little water before reheating to thin it back down a little.  Still delicious, though, and a super healthy soup to boot!

Minestrone

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups beef broth
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1 Tb Italian seasoning
  • 1 10-ounce box frozen spinach
  • 3/4 cup chopped zucchini
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 8 ounces sliced pepperoni, quartered
  • 2 cups chopped cabbage
  • 1/2 cup small shell pasta
  • grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

In a large pot, combine the first 5 ingredients.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer, partially covered, for 20 minutes.  Add the spinach, zucchini, kidney beans, and pepperoni.  Heat until warmed through, about 5 minutes.  Season to taste with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. 

Allow to cool, then pour into a large freezer container, and freeze until ready to eat.

To serve, thaw the soup and heat to boiling.  Reduce the heat to low, add the cabbage and pasta, and simmer for 20 minutes.  Sprinkle individual servings with Parmesan cheese.

This recipe is being shared with:

9 Comments

Filed under Soups/Stews

9 responses to “Minestrone Soup

  1. That looks wonderful , I will be giving that a try in the coming month.

  2. I can’t even get to the recipe because HOLY COW.. THE SNOW!

    THE SNOW.

    {faints}

    ** the soup looks yum 😉

  3. I love a good hearty soup like this. Pepperoni is definitely a plus!

  4. MawMAw and I made Minnestromi soup this morning and just finiushed eating lunch, I had to go to the store to get spinach and pepperroni, We had all the rest already. MY IT WAS GOOD and we have enough for several more meals. THANKS. Uncle LYNN called MOnday and they had 5 feet of snow in Atlanta.

  5. We just found out we will have another cold spell Wednesday morning. The news comes from Orlando (40 miles east of us) but our area gets colder that they do. They have lakes to keep them warmer but we have few lakes. It will get back down in the 30’s again. That is COLD here. I have lots of clothes on and the house is warm.

    • One thing I’ve learned is that it’s best to dress in layers when it’s really cold. Then you can remove or add layers as needed! I’m glad you’re staying nice and warm inside!

Leave a Reply

