Crunchy Potato Bites

If you cooked a big ham like I did for Christmas, then you probably have some leftover ham that would be perfect in this recipe.  As a ham lover myself, I’m happy as can be having all that chopped and sliced ham tucked away in my deep freeze!

This recipe comes from my Christmas with Southern Living Cookbook.  It’s quick and easy to make, especially if you already have mashed potatoes and ham on hand. I haven’t tried it myself, but I imagine these bites would freeze well too, so you could make them ahead of time and freeze for later which, for me, is one of the top things I look for in a recipe nowadays.  I love being able to pull dinner straight out of the freezer!

In the book these are in the “snacks” section, and they would be great as an appetizer too.  I made them probably about twice as large as the 1-inch balls specified and they were perfect for dinner.

Happy cooking!

Crunchy Potato Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mashed potatoes
  • 1 cup ground cooked ham
  • 1/2 cup (2 ounces) shredded Swiss cheese
  • 2 Tb chopped green onions
  • 3 Tb mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp prepared mustard
  • 1/4 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup crushed cornflakes

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except for cornflakes.  Depending on the stiffness of this mixture, you may want to refrigerate it for a bit until it firms up enough to shape into balls.  I needed to do this for mine.

Shape mixture into 1-inch (or larger if making for dinner).  Coat with crushed cornflakes.  Place on lightly greased baking sheets.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, or until lightly browned.

This recipe is being shared with:

5 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Pork

5 responses to “Crunchy Potato Bites

  1. Yummo, these sound great! Thanks for the recipe!! :0)

  2. Cat, thanks for posting this recipe on Friday Potluck — I love making new things from leftovers — and really look forward to seeing what you bring next 🙂

  3. What a great recipe. I love ham. You can do so much with it. I got a ham on sale cheap after Christmas so I having been getting a few recipes together to make with it when I get it out of the freezer. This one will be on my list to try.

Leave a Reply

