Scalloped Corn Casserole

Say hello to the first recipe of 2011 on my blog!  I couldn’t have picked a better one because this recipe is a perfect example of the kind of cooking you can expect to see on my blog this year.  It’s comforting, uses inexpensive and familiar ingredients, and is  quick and easy to make. 

I used to go thru phases in my cooking where sometimes I was all about being adventurous and trying lots of new foods and cuisines, and then sometimes I just wanted some good ol’ down-home comfort food.  I’m sure many of you are the same way!  But  I’ve realized that over the past year or so I’ve kinda settled more permanently into the down-home side of things.  I get the most joy and satisfaction from that kind of cooking.  Since I went back to work last August I’ve also been much more focused on making recipes that are quick and easy or that can be made ahead of time and popped into the freezer for later.  And, of course, I’ve always got the budget in mind with any recipe I make! 

So the majority of the recipes you see on my blog will fit into those categories.  And I have a feeling it’s going to be a great year! 🙂

If you like corn, then here’s a delicious casserole for you to try!  The recipe comes from this old cookbook called Favorite Recipes of Home Economics Teachers.

It caught my eye at my local thrift store recently, and I just had to buy it.  It was published in 1966 in Montgomery, Alabama.  And the cookbook isn’t kidding about there being 2000 recipes.  Many of them are somewhat repetitive, but that’s alright.  I love old cookbooks, and this one’s still got some great recipes in it such as this one.

I made this scalloped corn casserole to go along with our Christmas dinner, but it would be delicious any time of the year.  It’s quick and easy to throw together and would go well as a side dish for all sorts of things. 

Two little minor changes I made to the recipe were to substitute fresh parsley for the bell pepper, only because I happened to have the parsely already on hand and didn’t feel like digging in the deep freeze for the bell pepper.  The bell pepper would be delicious!  I also chose to leave out the cheese, but it would be even better I’m sure if you included it.  I’m not certain, but I’m assuming that the American cheese called for would be like Velveeta cheese?  I would probably just use grated cheddar cheese instead.

Happy cooking!

Scalloped Corn Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 can cream-style corn
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 cup cracker crumbs (I used Ritz)
  • 2/3 cup grated American cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 Tb melted butter

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients until well combined.  Pour into a greased 1 1/2-quart baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until set.

This recipe is being shared with:

6 Comments

Filed under Casseroles, Side Dishes, Vegetables, Vegetarian

6 responses to “Scalloped Corn Casserole

  1. Happy New Year Cat!! What a great find that cookbook was, I love old cookbooks too. And this is a great side dish. I’m with you – easy and economical and much tastier than “just” corn. Thank you so much for sharing with Cookbook Sundays – have a great week!

  2. That looks totally delicious – and I agree that there is nothing better than simple, flavourful, economical food – nothing too complicated, no “cheffy” fussing around. I definitely have to try this dish – there is a corn-lover in my house who I know would love it.
    Sue 🙂

  3. I love down home foods and I, too, would have jumped on a cookbook filled with home ec teacher’s favorite recipes 😉

Leave a Reply

