Happy New Year!

Okay, I’m a day late, so it’s a belated Happy New Year! These things happen 🙂

I am sorry to say that this is the first time that Jay and I didn’t even manage to stay awake until the new year.  What a couple of old farts we’ve become! In Jay’s defense, he was suffering from some pretty nasty heartburn.  So he went to lay down and I decided to lay down, bringing a few cookbooks to read, and then my eyes started to droop close…

I did remember to make Hoppin’ John which I’m sure most of you know is a tradition in the South for us to eat Hoppin’ John on New Years Day to ensure luck and prosperity through the next year. 

One year, not long after I moved away from home I think, I got scolded by my mother for not making Hoppin’ John.  So every year since then I’ve remembered!  I was so happy that even my bean hating husband ate a bowl-ful of good luck! 🙂

I wish you all a wonderful, safe, and happy new year!  May we all eat yummy, heart and tummy-warming foods all year long!  🙂

I’ll be back soon with a few more recipes from Christmas that I want to share!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. My momma has those same dishes!!! We grew up eating on them. She had the whole set with the houses and all! Such good memories 🙂

  2. Well, how about that! I have just a couple bowls that I found at a thrift store a while back. Gotta love those thrift store finds!

Leave a comment