Our Holiday Feast in Pictures

I hope everyone has had a wonderful holiday weekend!  Christmas was just Jay and I here, so it was quiet but still nice.  I wish we could have spent it with family, but spending it with one person you love is at least a whole lot better than spending it alone, right?

Recipes will be coming soon, but today I just wanted to share pictures I took of all our yummy, fattening food we ate over the past few days.

For Christmas Eve, I decided to make a couple different finger foods rather than a big dinner.  We had crockpot bbq smokies(forgot to include those in the picture), veggies with spinach dip, and a cheese ball with assorted crackers.  We also had frosted ginger cookies and shortbread candy cane kissed brownies (gotta have some sweets too!).  We set everything out on the coffee table in the living room so we could just nibble away while we watched Christmas specials on tv.  I loved the way that turned out and Jay did too, so I think that may just become our Christmas Eve tradition from now on.

For our Christmas breakfast after opening presents (I got a new camera, yay!  Now maybe I can take better pictures!), I made this amazing baked French toast casserole.  You really can’t go wrong with eggy bread drenched in butter, cream, and sugar, then baked until puffed and golden, can you?  The brown sugar became almost caramelized in places on top, adding another layer of yumminess.  We topped our servings with whipped cream and strawberries.  Do you think the strawberries count towards making it a  slightly healthier dish?  You’re right, I think you’d need a mountain of strawberries in order to do that!

I also made this delicious mulled cider in the crockpot.  My sweet sweet husband went all other town Friday searching for apple cider because he knew how much I wanted it.  Then I come to find out the guy doesn’t even like apple cider himself!  But he bought some just for me to use in this recipe 🙂

For our Christmas dinner, I made a honey-baked ham.  I always use the same recipe when I bake a ham, it comes from my Betty Crocker’s Old-Fashioned Cooking Cookbook.  It’s absolutely perfect, in my opinion.  I also made a pile of potatoes mashed with lots of cream and butter (because I didn’t feel like we’d consumed quite enough cream and butter yet!) and a scalloped corn casserole, which was a new recipe that came from an old cookbook called Favorite Recipes of Home Economics Teachers that I found in a thrift store a little while back.  It was very yummy as well. 

We actually sat at our kitchen table to eat, which is a novelty for us, we never eat at the table.  You may have noticed in a lot of the pictures I post, the food will be on a plastic tray because that’s how we always eat our meals, sitting on the couch in the living room.  But for Christmas we actually used the table! 

Finally, here are the cookies and brownies I mentioned that I had made.  I found both the recipes on other blogs just a few days ago, and I’m so happy I tried them!  I’ll be sure to share the recipe for them as well.

So those are all the holiday goodies that we stuffed ourselves silly on over the past few days.  I feel like I should eat nothing but salads for the next week to counteract all the ultra-rich, fattening foods I’ve eaten!

As I find the time to post over the next week or two, I’ll be sharing the recipes for all these goodies as well.  See y’all soon! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Our Holiday Feast in Pictures

  1. Thank you for the peppermint cookie recipe and the Dinner menu for Christmas. Hope you had a warm cozzy house for the holiday. We are staying inside expecting an unusual Florida hard freeze tonight for our county. MawMAw has all her potted plants in the garage. Our poinsettias are beautiful this year. We have brought them in three times already. They are left overs from last two years. The ones planted in the yard died last year from the freeeze even though we covered them with blankets.

Leave a Reply

