Chocolate Chip Peppermint Snowballs

Christmas is almost here!  Have y’all finished all your shopping??  Today is the start of my three-day holiday weekend, and I’ve got lots of baking and cooking planned! 

Before I go get started on that, though, I wanted to share the second cookies I baked last weekend.  I don’t know why but I’ve been obsessed lately with the combination of chocolate and peppermint.  These cookies originally had crushed peppermints in the dough, and that’s how I made them to take to my office Christmas party recently.  They were so good, I knew I wanted to make a batch for us at home, but I decided to swap out the peppermint in the dough for mini chocolate chips.  Very good call on that one, if I do say so myself. 

Be advised that the dough is pretty crumbly.  You’ll probably have to work on it a bit with your hands to form the balls.  But never fear, it will come together!  These are so addictive, I have not been able to keep my hands off them.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I have!

Have  a wonderful Merry Christmas everyone, and I’ll see y’all after the holidays!

P.S.  I apologize for only having one blurry, crappy picture to share.  Don’t let my picture taking capabilities deter you from making these!

Chocolate Chip Peppermint Snowballs

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup crushed peppermint candies (or candy canes)
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Mix crushed pepermints and 1/4 cup powdered sugar together.  Set aside.

Mix together butter, powdered sugar, mini chocolate chips, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Stir in flour and salt.  Mixture will be fairly crumbly.  Using your hands, shape into 1-inch balls.  Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 325 degrees for 15-18 minutes until set but not browned.  Remove from cookie sheet onto a wire cooling rack.  Allow to cool slightly, then roll in the crushed peppermint/powdered sugar mixture.  Cool completely, then roll again in the crushed peppermint/powdered sugar mix.

2 Comments

Filed under Cookies and Candies

2 responses to “Chocolate Chip Peppermint Snowballs

  1. I made chocolate chip snowballs a few days ago, but I love the addition of peppermint in yours! Merry Christmas to you and your husband Cat and a healthy, happy 2011!!!!

Leave a Reply

