It’s Holiday Baking Time! Pecan Balls

Goodness, is Christmas really only a week away??  It seems like it was only last week that we put up the tree and decorations.  I’m always sad when Christmas is over because I think January and February are the most depressing months of the year.  By that time I’m sick and tired of the snow and cold weather and just want spring to hurry up and get here.

But enough complaining, because at this moment my Christmas tree is shining brightly, and the whole house smells like cookies!  I’ve seen so many mouthwatering goodies tempting me from all your blogs lately, I could hardly wait for the weekend to get here when I’d have time to do some baking myself.

I made two different cookies today, and they were both very yummy!  I’m going to share both of them, and the first one is these delicious Pecan Balls.  The recipe comes from this very old, slightly battered copy of The Southern Junior League Cookbook.  We love our pecans in the South.

They’re basically like pecan sandies except, well, in ball form and rolled in powdered sugar.  Delicious, I tell ya!  I dare you to try to eat just one!

Pecan Balls

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans
  • powdered sugar

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except for powdered sugar.  Using your hands, roll into 1-inch balls.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes.  Allow to cool, then roll in powdered sugar.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies and Candies

Leave a Reply

