Mama Cle’s Special Coffee Cake

What a lovely cake this would be to serve on Christmas morning!  It’s very moist, and the flavor of cinnamon and pecans is just perfect.  This recipe comes from one of my Christmas with Southern Living cookbooks.  Mama Cle, whoever she is, sure knows a thing or two!

One thing I would recommend doing differently, though, is to put the whole cinnamon-pecan layer in the middle of the cake.  I didn’t realize until I’d already sprinkled the second layer on top that, wait a minute, how am I going to get this out of the bundt pan without the topping all falling off??  I did manage alright, as you can see from the photos, but I would rather have just put the whole layer in the middle.  The recipe also says to sprinkle the finished cake with powdered sugar, which I didn’t do, but I do think it would be a nice touch.

I didn’t do any step by step photo instructions this time, but it’s not a difficult cake to make 🙂

Give this a try, it would be a wonderful cake for your holiday table!

Mama Cle’s Special Coffee Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Beat butter and shortening together with a mixer until creamy, about 2 minutes.  Gradually add sugar, beating until light and fluffy.  Beat in eggs one at a time.  Stir in sour cream, mixing until well blended.

Combine flour and next 3 ingredients.  Gradually add to creamed mixture, stirring until well blended.  Stir in vanilla.

Spoon half the batter into a greased and floured bundt pan.  Combine pecans, sugar, and cinnamon.  Sprinkle half this mixture over the batter.  Repeat with remaining batter and pecan mixture.

Bake at 350 degrees for 55 minutes.  Let cool in pan for 10-15 minutes, then remove cake to a wire rack to finish cooling completely.  Sprinkle cake with powdered sugar.

This recipe is being shared with:

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Desserts

9 responses to “Mama Cle’s Special Coffee Cake

  1. This looks good if you have a moment I would love it if you linked up with me.

  2. You had me at sour cream and pecans! Looks rich and yummy!

  3. Now THAT looks GREAT!

    I’d love for you to stop by What’s Cooking Wednesday tonight to share one of your recipes!

    Hope to see you there!
    Cristi
    http://thekingscourt4.blogspot.com/

  4. This looks like a really good recipe. Thank you for sharing and you have a good week.

  5. my mouth is watering…this looks so moist and yummy! having the ‘topping’ only in the middle would be such a great surprise. tasty! thank you for linking up to tuesday night supper club.

  6. Susie

    You have made my day! I lost the Southern Living book that this recipe was in and it had another great cake recipe on the same page (the apple cake). Could you please tell me the date of that book so that I can get myself another copy? Thank you tons!!!!

    • The recipe is actually in two of my Southern Living cookbooks, their Annual Recipes 20th Anniversary Cookbook and their Christmas with Southern Living Volume 2 Cookbook. It could even be in others too. It must have been a popular recipe!

Leave a Reply

