Shoney’s Beef & Cabbage Soup

I have to say that as much as I grumble about the onset of winter every year (I haven’t done much of that on my blog, but trust me, my husband gets an earful), I do love making hearty winter foods.  I love coming inside from the cold and having a big bowl of something hot to warm my heart and tummy. 

And by this time of the year, we’ve already had our Christmas tree up for several weeks now, and whenever I’m home by myself I usually have holiday music playing (love Windham Hill’s A Winter’s Solstice albums).  I love the holiday season! I’m sure it also helps that its just Jay and I, so I don’t have lots of people to stress over buying gifts for.

Now, as for this soup, I don’t actually know if it tastes like the soup at Shoney’s or not.  I’ve only ever eaten at Shoney’s for their breakfast buffet.  But regardless of whether it’s the same as Shoney’s, I can tell y’all that this soup is delicious.  It will definitely warm your heart and tummy!  This is also another very economical recipe.  It makes a big pot of soup, but you can always freeze some for later. 

 I made this soup on the stovetop, but if it had been a workday I would have thrown everything into the crockpot.  If you follow my blog at all, you’ll know that I LOVE my crockpots and would cry miserably if I woke up one day and they were suddenly gone.

Let’s make this!  Simply brown up your ground beef along with the onion and bell pepper, making sure to drain of any excess grease.

Add in all remaining ingredients.  Cover and bring to a boil, then simmer until done.  That’s it!

Make some cornbread, biscuits, or garlic bread to go along with, and you’ve got a wonderful meal to help stave off that winter chill.

Shoney’s Beef & Cabbage Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 medium head cabbage, chopped
  • 1 large potato, diced
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Brown ground beef, onion, and bell pepper in large pot.  Add all remaining ingredients, stirring well.  Cover and bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beef, Soups/Stews

Leave a Reply

