Cracker Barrel Chicken (or Turkey) Casserole-And Adventures in the Snow

Today I’m going to start off by telling y’all a little story, and you’ll probably either sympathize with me or just get a good laugh out of it (or maybe both).  So I’m a Southerner, right?   Born and raised in a little town right near the Everglades, which is about as far into the Deep South as you can possibly get.  We barely have winter of any kind there.   Here in Edmonton, Alberta we have two seasons, as the locals like to say-winter and construction. 

Well, we’re definitely into winter now.  We recently bought me a car, and I’ve been dreading the day when the snow finally comes for good because the thought of driving in it terrifies me.  I mean, I hyperventilate just being in the passenger seat when there’s snow everywhere!

Yesterday, I decided to try facing my fears and drive us to get groceries.  Well, let’s just say that when we finally arrived at the grocery store, I had a mini breakdown and cried right there in my car in the parking lot.  Yep, I sure did.  It’s okay you Northerners, go ahead and laugh, I can take it.  So needless to say, Jay drove on the way home…

But two things helped cheer me up.  First, at the grocery store I helped an elderly lady bag some bell peppers.  No big deal, I thought.  But she thanked me repeatedly and even gave me a little package of ferrero rocher chocolates and a toonie(a $2 coin for you non-Canadians).  So that made me feel really good.  And then, later in the evening, Jay came home with a bouquet of roses.  Roses!  For me!  How sweet was that?  My day turned out to be not so bad after all 🙂

Now, as for this recipe.  I love Cracker Barrel and I feel that it is a travesty that there are no Cracker Barrels in Canada.  And if you love Cracker Barrel too, then you know already that this recipe is going to be good.  It would be a perfect way to use up some of that leftover Thanksgiving turkey!  This casserole is pure comfort food, and you can’t go wrong with that.

It’s also super easy to make, so let’s get to it!

First, you want to cook up your pan of cornbread.  Once it’s done, set it aside to cool, and we’ll come back to it later. For the filling, start by cooking up your onion and celery.

Then stir in the remaining filling ingredients, and simmer a few minutes until heated thru.  That’s it, done with the filling!

Pour that into your casserole dish.  Now crumble up that pan of cornbread you made earlier and sprinkle it over the top.

Into the oven goes to bake until it looks something like this.

Now that’s some good down-home cookin’!

Cracker Barrel Chicken Casserole

Ingredients:

Cornbread:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 Tb vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg

Chicken Filling:

  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups chopped, cooked chicken

Directions:

For the cornbread, whisk together all ingredients.  Pour into a greased baking dish.  Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Allow to cool, then crumble up.

For the filling, saute the onion and celery in butter until softened.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Simmer for 5 minutes until heated through.  Pour into a 13×9 greased baking dish.  Sprinkle the crumbled cornbread over top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes, or until lightly browned and bubbly.

This recipe is linked to:

4 Comments

Filed under Casseroles, Chicken

4 responses to “Cracker Barrel Chicken (or Turkey) Casserole-And Adventures in the Snow

  1. SO yummalicious! Being Canadian as well, I sympathize with the lack of Cracker Barrel-ness…so sad. This looks fantastic. So glad I found your blog 🙂

  2. JDaniel4's Mom

    I love Cracker Barrel too. This dish looks wonderful!

  3. I will definitely be trying this with the leftover turkey! My husband is from Calgary. It does stink not to have Cracker Barrel, but on the bright side, you’ve got Timbits!

Leave a Reply

