Chicken and Yellow Rice

Today I’m taking a trip down memory lane with this recipe.  I distinctly remember the night I came up with the brilliant idea to add a can of tomatoes and some chicken to a pot of yellow rice.  Boy, you would have thought I’d just discovered I was a master chef, I was so proud of myself.  This was years ago when I had just recently moved out onto my own, so don’t laugh too much at me!

I realize now that it’s not exactly the masterpiece I thought it was back then, but I’m okay with that.  I’m not a master chef, I’m just an ordinary girl who loves to cook, and I hope I never lose the joy that cooking gives me.  I really had to chuckle a little when I thought back to how I even had to make this dish for my parents the next time I was home visiting (though I’m sure they don’t even remember it!).

These days I generally stay away from boxed mixes and that sort of thing, but one thing I do buy regularly is yellow rice.  I’ve tried to make it at home myself without any luck.  So I just have to buy it instead!

Here’s our ingredients for this one pot wonder.  Yep, three.  That’s it.  If you’ve never tried yellow rice before, do yourself a favor and rectify that situation immediately.  Trust me, you’ll thank me.  It’s yummy stuff.  And if you have access to Rotel tomatoes, I highly recommend using a can of that instead of plain tomatoes.  Unfortunately, we are deprived of Rotel where I live.

Very simply, cook up your yellow rice then stir in the chicken and tomatoes, like so.  I think adding a can of beans at this point would be a really nice addition.  Black, pinto, or even pink beans.  Jay, however, is picky about any beans that aren’t in baked form so I was nice and left them out.

And if you want, sprinkle on a little cheese. 

Thanks for coming along with me on this trip down memory lane 🙂

Chicken and Yellow Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 box yellow rice
  • 1 (14oz) can diced tomatoes (or Rotel tomatoes)
  • 2 cups chopped, cooked chicken
  • optional additions:  canned beans, shredded cheese

Directions:

Cook yellow rice according to package directions.  Stir in tomatoes, chicken, and beans (if using).  Let simmer 5-10 minutes until bubbly and heated thru.  Sprinkle servings with cheese, if desired.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Stove-Top Meals

Leave a Reply

