Quiche Lorraine

When I make things like this, I inevitably think to myself, “Why bother with fancy foods when I can make something as simple as this that tastes so darn good?”.  This one is going right up there with my other favorite simple quiche/pie recipes, vidalia onion pie and zucchini pie.  I could easily clear away half the pie with those, and I could do the same with this one.  Isn’t that the sign of a good recipe?  One that’s so good you could eat enough to put yourself in a food coma!

This is the second recipe I’ve tried from the Williams-Sonoma Essentials of Baking Cookbook that I checked out from the library recently (the first one being this super honey-whole wheat bread).   I’m starting to think those Williams-Sonoma folks know a thing or two!

One thing I did do differently was to use my own pie crust recipe rather than the one listed in the book.  I always use my super easy press in the pan pie crust recipe which I’ll eventually get around to posting on here one of these days because I love it.  I also substituted half & half and 1% milk for the heavy cream and whole milk since I never buy either of those things, and it saved me some calories.  Y’all do whatever makes you happy.

And this may sound kinda silly, but I think this is the first time I’ve made a recipe that called for adding a pinch of nutmeg in which I’ve actually added enough to where I could taste it!  And ya know, I really liked it.  I should do that more often, huh? 🙂  I guess I’ve never been quite sure how much of a pinch I should be adding, and since I don’t want to add too much I end up not adding enough.  I think I probably added about 1/8 of a teaspoon.

Also, if you’re wondering where the cheese is, well according to Williams-Sonoma, a “true” quiche Lorraine is simply an egg and cream custard dotted with bits of bacon.  So there you have it.   We’ve all been misguided in thinking we should be adding Swiss cheese to our quiche Lorraines (not that that isn’t a tasty addition!).

Start out by prebaking the pie crust just until it starts to turn a little golden.  I bake mine at 425 degrees for about 10-12 minutes.

Now fry up some lovely yummy bacon, and sprinkle it into the pie crust.

Whisk together the egg custard mixture, and pour over top.

Dot the top with butter, then into the oven it goes!

 

We had some tomato slices and homemade applesauce with this, and it was a perfect meal.  Btw, I don’t know why, but whenever I make quiche we always have applesauce with it.  I guess the two just go together!

Quiche Lorraine

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust, prebaked
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 tb butter

Directions:

Fry bacon until crisp.  Transfer to paper towels to drain, then pat dry with more paper towels.  Cut into pieces, and sprinkle in bottom of pie crust.

Whisk together the eggs, salt, pepper, and nutmeg until blended.  Whisk in the cream and milk.  Slowly pour the egg mixture over the bacon, trying not to disturb the bacon layer (though that’s kind of impossible, I think).  Dot the top with the butter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned and the filling is set.  Let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

I’m sharing this recipe with:

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Pork

2 responses to “Quiche Lorraine

  1. Wow! I’d love for you to stop by What’s Cooking Wednesday tonight and share your recipe! Hope to see you there 🙂

    Cristi
    http://thekingscourt4.blogspot.com/

  2. i like to substitute milk for cream in recipes like this too…i don’t find that it makes much of a difference…except on my waistline! eggs and nutmeg…a great combination…glad you finally gave it a go 😉 this is a terrific recipe and i will be on the look out for your press in crust recipe. thank you for linking it up to tuesday night supper club!

Leave a Reply

