Roasted Red Pepper Dip

If I could caption this picture, it would be with the words, “It’s a rough life”.  Ha!

Seriously, don’t cats have it made?  They have just about the easiest life imagineable.  Sleep for a while, then get up and scratch around in the litter box, check out the food bowl, run around and play for about five minutes, then back to bed.  A cycle to be repeated all day, everyday.  Whew, so rough!

But we love our cats (that’s Shadow in the pictures) and can’t imagine life without them 🙂  Which means they are spoiled rotten, of course.  In fact, Jay recently bought one of those kitty water fountains that you plug in, and it keeps the water circulating so it stays fresher.  Because our cat Fritz is picky about things like that, so he finally got her her very own water fountain.  Spoiled, I tell ya!

Okay, enough cat stories, let me tell y’all about this recipe.  It comes from the Cooking Light 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Cookbook.  Which means it’s a quick and easy dip to throw together.  Even quicker if you cheated like I did and used bottled roasted red peppers.  Yep, I admit it, I went the cheater route.  And I threw the raw garlic straight into the food processor too.  Sometimes that’s just the way things have to be done!  However you choose to make it is fine, it’ll turn out yummy either way.

Roasted Red Pepper Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2 large red bell peppers
  • 2 large garlic cloves, unpeeled
  • 1 (8 oz) block cream cheese
  • 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Preheat broiler.  Cut bell peppers in half, removing seeds and membranes.  Place peppers, skin side up, on a baking sheet.  Flatten them slightly with your hands.  Place unpeeled garlic cloves on baking sheet as well. 

Broil for 4 minutes.  Turn garlic over, and broil another 4 minutes.  Remove garlic cloves.  Let the bell peppers broil a few minutes longer, or until blackened.

Place peppers in a ziploc bag, and let them sit for 15 minutes.  Remove peppers, and peel off the blackened skin.  Peel garlic cloves as well.

Place peppers and garlic in a food processer, and process until smooth.  Add cream cheese and process again.  Spoon mixture out into a bowl.  Stir in remaining ingredients.   Serve immediately, or cover and chill.

I like this best with Triscuit crackers!

I am sharing this recipe with:

6 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Vegetables, Vegetarian

6 responses to “Roasted Red Pepper Dip

  1. I’d be using bottled roasted red peppers too! I find roasting peppers and taking the skin off to be a pain in the butt. Sometimes it has to be done (poblanos for instance) but when it comes to red peppers, forget it. I buy the jar. :o) This looks like a perfect Sunday afternoon snack to munch on while curled up on the couch watching a movie (with my 2 cats of course). Thanks so much for sharing this with Cookbook Sundays!

  2. I have some roasted red peppers in the freezer, this will be made and enjoyed for our Thanksgiving meal. Thanks.

  3. This sounds like a great recipe, and I would have no problem using bottled peppers and raw garlic. There are certain things that I would roast and skin peppers for, but dip is not one of them 🙂
    Sue

  4. I love roasted peppers. This looks like a great dip to take to my Thanksgiving family dinner.

  5. I have a dog, the exact same way. I love it!

    And I’ll be taking the short cut, thank you very much! Jarred peppers here!

    Thanks so much for linking it up to Saturday’s Party!

    -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

  6. I have a dog, the exact same way. I love it!
    And I’ll be taking the short cut, thank you very much! Jarred peppers here!
    Thanks so much for linking it up to Saturday’s Party!

    -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

