Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Homemade Barbecue Sauce

Before I get to today’s recipe, I first want to say thank you to all our veterans.  That goes for both Canada and the US, today is a holiday here too though we call it Remembrance Day.  Today is still a work day for me, albeit a shorter one, and I’ll be wearing a red poppy pin for remembrance.  Make sure you thank all the veterans you know on this special day 🙂

Here’s another really great recipe that comes from a recent issue of Simple & Delicious.  Jay and I both thought these sandwiches were delicious.  I loved that they were easy to make and also very economical.  I used pork shoulder steaks in place of the country-style ribs the recipe called for, and they were only $.99/lb which is about the cheapest I ever find meat around here. 

Besides that, I also changed the preparation a bit.  I cooked the meat and the sauce separately, then combined them at the end, rather than dumping everything into the crockpot at once.  That way I was able to drain the fat from the meat first because, really, who wants all that fat mixed in?

Speaking of the sauce, I thought it was really yummy!  Like many of you, I’m sure, the way I usually make pulled pork is just to mix the shredded pork with a bottle of barbecue sauce.  While this recipe is a little fancier with it’s homemade sauce, it only took a few minutes to whip together.  I think it would be great with other things too (like barbecue chicken pizza!).

Here’s how to make this:

Cut your shoulder steaks into chunks.  Season them up (I used my absolute favorite seasoning, Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning) then place them in the crockpot.  Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours.  Once the meat is done, shred it up, and here’s what you should have.

Now we need to make the sauce because that pork is feeling sad and lonely all by itself! 

Saute the onion until it’s softened.

Now stir in the remaining sauce ingredients and cook until heated thru.

Add the shredded meat and stir it all around.  Let it cook until it’s warmed through.

Slap some of that into a bun, and you’re good to go.  Not exactly stellar picture quality here, but you get the idea 🙂

Here’s the recipe:

Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Homemade Barbecue Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs boneless pork shoulder, cut into chunks
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup plum sauce
  • 1/4 cup chili sauce
  • 2 Tb brown sugar
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp liquid smoke
  • 1/2 tsp allspice

Directions:

Season the pork well and place in slow cooker.  Cover, and cook on low for 7-8 hours, or until the pork is tender.  Allow to cool slightly, then shred. 

For the sauce, saute the onion in a skillet until softened.  Stir in remaining ingredients, and cook until heated through.  Add the shredded meat to the sauce, and cook until everything is heated.  Serve in buns.

This recipe is being shared with:

8 Comments

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Pork

8 responses to “Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Homemade Barbecue Sauce

  1. Cat, this looks delicious!!! I love pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks for the tip on draining the pork first and then adding the bbq sauce. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have thought of that, lol! ARGH!

  2. See there, you learn something new everyday! 🙂

  3. I think this looks fantastic! It’s hard to make some things look good in photos, case in point, my black bean & bella burgers a while back… but I think you’ve posted a lovely recipe! Thank you for sharing with Friday Potluck this week — I hope to see you back in the following weeks as well! 🙂

  4. wow, i think i can do it…thanks for sharing your recipe! happy weekend! 🙂

  5. This is very similar to the way I make pulled pork. We love it too!

  6. That homemade barbecue sauce sounds like it would be good on a lot of other stuff as well.

  7. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe and linking up.

Leave a Reply

