Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes

In the mood to try something a little different than your standard sweet potato casserole(not that I’m knocking sweet potato casserole!)?  Then give this recipe a try!

I recently came across a pile of old Kraft What’s Cooking magazines at work that someone had thrown out, and I immediately snatched them up to bring home with me.  One of the recipes I found while flipping thru was for twice-baked sweet potatoes.  I changed the recipe around a little bit to come up with this one that I’m sharing and that I think turned out quite yummy.

I was actually lucky to be able to make these at all.  Usually the sweet potatoes I see in the store are the humongous ones that could easily feed 4 people per potato.  But last weekend I came across a bag of (gasp!) normal sized ones!

And take a look at how I cooked them.

That’s right, I cooked them in the crockpot!  I got the idea from one of my favorite blogs, Finding Joy in My Kitchen, which recently had a post on making regular baked potatoes in the crockpot.  I thought, why not sweet potatoes too?  Worked like a charm, and they only took about 3 hours on high.  And I saved a lot of energy by not heating up the oven!

Once they were done, I split them in half and let them cool so they wouldn’t burn my fingers.  Then I scooped the filling into a bowl and mashed it up.

Then I added all the yummy filling ingredients and stirred them all together.

Then that filling went back into the sweet potato shells.

After a quick bake in the oven, they were done.  Yum!

Here’s the recipe 🙂

Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 4 small sweet potatoes, baked until tender (crockpot works wonders!)
  • 1/4 cup half & half
  • 1 Tb brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Directions:

Once sweet potatoes have cooled slightly, cut them in half and scoop out the filling, leaving about a 1/4 inch thick shell.  Mash the sweet potato pulp, then stir in the remaining ingredients.  Spoon potato mixture back into the shells.

Bake in a 425 degree oven for about 8 minutes, or until potatoes are heated thru.

This post is linked with:

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Vegetables, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes

  1. WOW! What a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Liz

    These sound delicious, perfect for a cold fall night!

Leave a Reply

