Apple Cinnamon Rolls

I’ve seen recipes for apple cinnamon rolls pop up on several blogs recently, and I really liked the idea of adding apples to cinnamon rolls.  But the recipes I found either called for an ingredient I didn’t have or just weren’t quite what I had in mind.  And yet, I had to make them because I’d already mentioned them to Jay, and really, how can you let a man down when his eyes light up that much??

I ended up turning to Betty Crocker, because the ol’ girl has never let me down.  I made just the dough part from the caramel sticky rolls recipe in one of my BC cookbooks, added chopped apples and made a powdered sugar glaze.

The verdict:  Seriously one of the best things I have ever made in my life.  Seriously.

Here’s how to make them:

First, add the yeast to the warm milk, and let it proof (once it’s foamy on top, it’s ready).

Combine 2 cups of the flour, sugar, and salt.  Add the proofed yeast mixture, butter, and egg.

Whisk everything together until it looks like this.

Now add enough of the remaining flour until the dough leaves the sides of the bowl and forms a ball.  Turn that out onto a floured surface, and knead away.

Into the greased bowl the dough goes.  Now we let it do it’s rising thing.

Ta da!  It’s magic, I tell ya.

Time to roll out, and add the filling, like so.

Roll that bad boy up, cut it into slices, and place in a baking pan.  Here’s a little tip:  dental floss works wonders when it comes to slicing cinnamon rolls.

After the second rising.  Magic.

Straight out of the oven.

Pour the glaze over them while they’re still warm.

Oh my good gravy.  I couldn’t even be bothered to put one on a plate, I ate it right there in the pan.  I’m such a savage sometimes.

Here’s the complete recipe 🙂

Apple Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients:

Rolls:

  • 3 1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 pkgs regular yeast
  • 1 cup warm milk (105 to 110 degrees)
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg

Filling:

  • 2 cups peeled, chopped apples
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tb softened butter

Icing:

  • 1 lb powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Directions:

Combine the yeast and warm milk.  Allow to stand for 10 minutes or until foamy.  Add to a large bowl along with the melted butter, egg, 2 cups flour, granulated sugar, and salt.  Beat together until combined.  Stir in enough remaining flour until dough leaves the sides of the bowl and forms a ball.

Turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth.  Place in a greased bowl, cover, and let rise in a warm place until doubled.

On a floured surface, roll out into a large rectangle.  Spread the softened butter over, then sprinkle with the brown sugar, cinnamon, and chopped apples.

Roll up tightly, starting from the longer side.  Cut into slices and place in a greased baking pan.  Cover, and let rise again until doubled.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.

Combine all the glaze ingredients until smooth.  Pour over the top of the warm rolls.

Note:  I forgot to mention that I made just half the recipe.  So if you make the full recipe, expect to have a lot more cinnamon rolls than I did.

4 Comments

Filed under Breads, Desserts

4 responses to “Apple Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Apples just make yummy cinnamon rolls even yummier! I want one of these, warm from the oven….. I was thinking of you, Cat, when I heard that Alberta had snow. I was positive you had probably gotten it and I see that I was right. I’m with you, why can’t it come and then disappear a day or two later, lol. No snow in Toronto yet, we never get any until at least November, usually not even until December. It was unseasonably warm here today (21C) and now it’s raining. :o( I think I prefer snow…..(did I really just say that?)

    • Oh my, 21 degrees sounds like heaven! We did indeed get snow, but thankfully it’s mostly gone already. We should be warming up here over the next week, though not as warm as where you are, unfortunately. But I’ll take what I can get!

  2. Diane

    These sound delicious! I wish it was cool here (Naples, Florida). We have had a heat wave, and it feels like summer.
    I think I might make these for Christmas breakfast.

  3. These are perfect for breakfast or a snack. Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

