Crockpot Cookin’: Chicken Noodle Soup

Before I get to today’s recipe, say hello to Old Man Winter…

That’s the sight that welcomed me outside my window when I woke up this morning.  The first snowfall of the season.  I was partly disgusted because I know it’s only a small taste of what’s going to come in massive quantities all too soon.  But I also have to admit that there is something very beautiful in watching the snow fall and seeing everything blanketed in white.  I just wish it would snow,maybe hang around for a few days, and then be on it’s merry way.  Wishful thinking where I live…

I made some crockpot applesauce this morning which made the house smell wonderful.  Really, is there anything better when it’s cold and snowing outside than to have the smell of apples and cinnamon inside?

Well, the second best thing would be soup, and not just any soup but chicken noodle soup.  Which is what I’m bringing for your eating pleasure today, my friends.  This is a snap to put together because you just throw everything in the crockpot and let it cook away.

And, of course, what goes better with chicken noodle soup than homemade buttermilk biscuits?

Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chopped, cooked chicken
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup EACH chopped onion, celery, & carrots
  • 1 can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 medium potato, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups egg noodles, uncooked

Directions:

Add all ingredients to crockpot except for the noodles.  Cover, and cook on low for 7-8 hours.  Stir in the noodles.  Turn the crockpot to high and cook for about 30 minutes or until the noodles are done.

This recipe is linked with:

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Crockpot Meals, Soups/Stews

2 responses to “Crockpot Cookin’: Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. I make a “purist” chicken noodle soup…my family wants chicken and noodles..nothing else. Your version looks really tasty:) Thanks for joining me for Crock Pot Wednesday. I hope you will come back this week with another entry. I love a good snowfall, but I don’t want it to hang around for mor than two or three days. That’s about what we get here, fortunately.

Leave a Reply

