Smoked Sausage Kabobs OR Stir-Fry

That title makes it sound like this recipe is having an identity crisis.  Well, I guess it is just a little.  You see, it was originally supposed to be a kabob recipe, and I fully intended to cook it that way.  Then I got home from a busy day at work, and the last thing I wanted to do was take the time to thread sausage and veggies onto skewers.  So everything got dumped into the skillet and stir-fried instead. 

The moral of that story is, you can choose to make kabobs with this recipe or a stir-fry.  Either way will be great!  I do suggest, though, that you cut up your sausage and veggies smaller than I did if you choose to stir-fry.  Some rice on the side or crispy oven-roasted potatoes would go great with this.

The instructions here are going to be for making a stir-fry.  Y’all don’t need me to tell you how to make kabobs 🙂

I have to tell y’all a little story before I get to the recipe.  Hillshire Farm is my favorite brand of smoked sausage, but it wasn’t sold where I lived.  Which I had always been very bummed about and whined to Jay about many times.  And then, all of a sudden, a few months ago they started selling it at my local grocery store.  When I saw it for the first time, I just about did a happy dance right there in the store!  And then proceeded to buy five packages.  Sometimes I can be a little excessive.  So now I have lots of Hillshire Farm sausage in my deep freeze.  Life is complete.  We can now move on to the recipe.

Whenever I’m marinating anything, I always like to use a tupperware container rather than a ziploc bag.  The reason being that the tupperware can be reused, whereas the ziploc bag has to be thrown away, and I try to keep the waste to a minimum in my kitchen.  Go green! 🙂

Throw in your chopped smoked sausage and veggies, put the lid on, and shake shake shake.  Put that in the fridge and let it marinate at least 2 hours.

Now add your marinated sausage and vegetables to a hot skillet.  Don’t add the marinade!  We’ll get to that in the next step.

After a few minutes, things should be browning up nicely.  Now it’s time to add the reserved marinade.

Let it bubble away a few more minutes.  Our goal here is to have to marinade reduce and thicken just a bit.  Once it reaches that point, it’s time to eat!

Please pretend you don’t see the slightly burnt garlic bread.   I, umm, decided to quickly scoop out the litter boxes while waiting for things to finish cooking and ended up completely forgetting I had garlic bread in the toaster oven.  You should have seen the mad dash I made back to the kitchen once I remembered!

Here’s the recipe 🙂

Smoked Sausage Kabobs/Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tb vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 Tb honey
  • 2 1/2 Tb soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 lb smoked sausage, sliced
  • 1 large red bell pepper, cut into chunks
  • 1 medium onion, cut into chunks

Directions:

In a large container, whisk together the oil, honey, soy sauce, and garlic powder.  Add the smoked sausage, bell pepper, and onion.  Put the lid on, and shake until everything is coated in the marinade.  Refrigerate at least 2 hours.

Add the marinated mixture to a large skillet over medium-high heat, reserving the marinade.  Cook for 5-10 minutes, until the sausage is browned and the vegetables have softened.  Add the reserved marinade.  Cook for a few minutes longer, until the marinade has reduced and thickened slightly.

This recipe is linked with:

2 Comments

Filed under Pork, Stove-Top Meals

2 responses to “Smoked Sausage Kabobs OR Stir-Fry

  1. YUM! i think i am more of a stir-fry girl. this recipe looks so delicious. we have a freezer full of smoked sausage…it is a fave of my husband. i am going to whip this up this week for sure. thank you for linking up to tuesday night supper club

Leave a Reply

