Hawaiian Joes

Here’s a fun twist on a old favorite.  While I love making foods the old-fashioned, traditional way, sometimes it’s nice to change things up a bit too. 

These Hawaiian joes are different enough that you won’t feel like you’re making the same old thing again, but not so different that everyone won’t still enjoy them.  As soon as I saw them on Tasty Kitchen, I knew I wanted to try them.  Jay and I both loved them!

I will say that the original recipe called for 2 slices of chopped bacon, but I left that out, and I would do so again in the future.  I didn’t think the recipe needed it.

To get started, we need some ground beef, and some chopped onion, red bell pepper, and garlic.

 

Throw all that into your skillet, and cook until the ground beef is cooked through and the veggies have softened. 

Now add all the sauce ingredients.  If you’re thinking that tomato sauce looks mighty strange, it’s because I had to make an emergency substitution with a can of tomato soup.  I didn’t realize I was out of tomato sauce!

After simmering for 10 minutes, it’s time to add your pineapple into the mix.  Fresh is best, my friends, but I guess I won’t hold it against you if you want to use canned pineapple.

Stir the pineapple in, and get everything all combined.  As you can see from the consistency, these will be fairly messy (or should I say sloppy? 🙂 ) Hawaiian joes, so make sure there are plenty of napkins around. 

Time to eat! Yum! 

Hope y’all have a wonderful, relaxing Sunday!

Hawaiian Joes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tb rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 Tb Worcestershire sauce
  • 8 (ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 3 Tb tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup diced pineapple

Directions:

Brown ground beef along with onion, bell pepper, and garlic in skillet.  Drain off any fat.  Add all remaining ingredients, except pineapple.  Mix together well, then simmer for 10 minutes.  Stir in pineapple and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve on hamburger buns.

This recipe is linked with:

1 Comment

Filed under Beef, Sandwiches, Stove-Top Meals

One response to “Hawaiian Joes

  1. I had pineapple on a burger for the first time this past summer and I just loved it. Thanks for providing another way to eat pineapple with your burger. Great recipe Cat!

Leave a Reply

