Creamy Spinach Enchiladas

Well, hello to everyone in Blog Land!  How y’all doin’ today? 🙂

Before I get to my recipe today, I want to first provide links to two great blogs, A Southern Fairytale and Once A Month Mom.  Why, you ask?  Because for the month of October those wonderful ladies are collecting personal stories regarding breast cancer and some great recipes to go along with.  They will then be compiling an e-book in which the entire proceeds will go to the Susan G. Komen Foundation.  How awesome is that??  So why don’t you mosy on over and take a look, and help support the fight against breast cancer!

Now, if you’re in the market for a meatless meal that even your most rabid carnivores will devour, then look no further.  Jay mentioned not once, but twice, in between mouthfuls, about how yummy these enchiladas were!  I’m just excited to have another recipe to add to the list of meatless meals we both enjoy. 

This recipe comes from Pillsbury (yep, I’m still obsessed with my One-Dish Meals Cookbook), and I streamlined the recipe just a bit by eliminating one or two steps I didn’t think were absolutely necessary.  Because when you’re coming home from a long day at work, you want to keep things as short and sweet as possible, right?

Ready to rock n’ roll (enchiladas, that is)

As you can see, I used flour rather than corn tortillas.  I have nothing against corn tortillas (actually, I ❤ them very much) other than their steep price tag at the store.  So, flour tortillas it is, and since they were too large for my baking dish, I had to do a little creative cutting and trimming.

All sauced and cheesed up, and ready to go

Mmm, would you look at that?  Delicious!

Time to eat!

One final word here.  The recipe calls for green onions in the filling, but my green onions were looking much too sad to be of any use other than to fill up another spot in the trash can, so I left them out.  Didn’t miss them at all really, so if you want to cut another step, just leave them out.

Creamy Spinach Enchiladas

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions
  • 1 box frozen spinach, thawed & squeezed to drain
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 6 oz. (1 1/2 cups) Monterey Jack (do yourself a favor and amp it up to PepperJack instead!)
  • 12 corn tortillas, warmed slightly
  • 1 can enchilada sauce

Directions:

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In a medium bowl, stir together the green onions, spinach, cottage cheese, sour cream, and 1 cup of the Monterey Jack cheese.  Spoon about 1/4 cup of the mixture down the center of each tortilla.  Roll up and place, seam side down, in an ungreased 13×9 inch baking dish.

Pour enchilada sauce evenly over the tortillas, and sprinkle with the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese.  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until bubbly and thoroughly heated.  Sprinkle with additional green onions, if desired.

This recipe is also linked with:

4 Comments

Filed under Casseroles, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Creamy Spinach Enchiladas

  1. These look fantastic Cat! I love anything with spinach and cheese and I especially love enchiladas. I always use flour tortillas too, they’re actually easier to find at my local No Frills than corn. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

  2. This looks great! And the spinach really adds a healthy element. I’ll have to give this a try!

  3. I just printed this up. This is too good not to make very soon. It looks so creamy and delicious. Thanks for linking up with My Meatless Mondays at My Sweet and Savory.

    I am on the wrong blog now but I am too lazy to change it.

  4. That sounds so great! I can’t wait to give it a try

    -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

