Crockpot Cookin’: Tangy Tomato Pork Chops

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again-crockpots can be such a lifesaver when it comes to putting dinner on the table.  A 9-5 shift all the time would be great, but sometimes I don’t get home from work in the evenings until 7 or 8, and those usually get designated as crockpot days.  It’s so nice to walk in the door and have dinner ready!

This recipe comes from my Fix-It & Forget-It Cookbook.  It’s funny, when I first bought this cookbook in my early twenties (I have one other in the series too) I thought it was just so awesome and I would look thru it at night just thinking about all the recipes I wanted to make from it.  This was in the days when I had just moved out on my own to a small town outside Seattle and wasn’t a very experienced cook.  Now I look thru it, and most of the recipes seem so basic and redundant, in many cases.  It’s interesting to me to see my progression as a home cook.  I’m sure many of you can relate too. 

That doesn’t mean that I don’t still like this cookbook, and I’m glad to have it on my bookshelf because I’ve made plenty of recipes from it that I love, including this recipe for pork chops.  It’s kind of a kicked up version of one of my favorite meals as a child that my mom made, which was fried pork chops with tomato gravy and rice.  I feel sorry for any of y’all that have never had the joy of eating fried pork chops with tomato gravy and rice. Puuure comfort food. But this recipe is similar, so make yourself some rice to go along with, and you’ll have a great meal!

Here’s everything in the crockpot ready to go in the morning.

And after slow cooking all day long, here’s what we have.  What a wonderful aroma from those spicy onions and peppers!

The hubby’s plate.  I plated his dinner up first because sometimes I can be a nice wife.

Btw, I’ve changed the background color of my blog to pink in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  Having had several close family members diagnosed with breast cancer (and kicked it’s butt!) including one currently in the middle of kicking it’s butt, it’s a subject very personal and near to my heart.  Last year I got to participate in the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure, and it was a great experience.  Today was actually the day for the CIBC Run for the Cure here in Edmonton, though unfortunately I was working today (I work every other weekend).  But there’s always next year!  So this month my blog is going to stay decked out in pink 🙂

Happy cooking!

Tangy Tomato Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 4 (1/2 inch thick) pork chops
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 (14 oz can) stewed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tb EACH cider vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tb lemon juice
  • 1 tsp beef buillon (or one buillon cube)

Directions:

Sprinkle each side of pork chops with salt and pepper.  Place in slow cooker.  Place the onion, celery, and bell pepper on top. Combine remaining ingredients, except for cornstarch and water, then pour over the chops and vegetables.  Cover and cook on low for 7-8 hours.  Serve over rice.

6 Comments

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Pork

6 responses to “Crockpot Cookin’: Tangy Tomato Pork Chops

  1. Interesting recipe. Nice twist of using tomatoes and ketchup for this.

  2. You mention cornstarch and water in the directions, but you do not list them in the ingredients. Can you please clarify how much and when to add them?

    This recipe looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

    Thank you!

    • Oops thanks for pointing that out! The recipe originally called for combining 2 Tb of cornstarch and 2 Tb of water to stir in at the end to thicken the gravy (removing the pork chops first). I decided not to do that step after all, I didn’t feel like the gravy needed thickening, but I forgot to go back and edit the directions to omit mention of that step. Sorry for the confusion!

  3. Yummmmm…..definitely gonna give this one a try! Thanks for sharing! :0)

  4. I made this for supper tonight, and oh my…soooooo good!!! I had to use diced tomatoes instead of stewed because that’s all I had in my pantry. This is definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

