The Colors of Fall

Sometimes things just don’t quite go according to plan, and this week was one of them in regards to my blog.  First, I had a Spanish chicken and rice dish I was going to post but which we ended up eating before I remembered to take any pictures.  Oops!  I don’t take great pictures, but I do like to have some sort of visual reference at least.  Second, I made a new French toast recipe that I was excited about but which turned out to be not so great after all.  Don’t you hate when you have high hopes for a recipe only to be let down?

So instead of a recipe today, I’m going to share some pictures that I took this past week of the onset of fall in these parts.  Unfortunately, I think the leaves were just a few days past their prime when I was finally able to take some pictures.  We had a rainy day last week, and then a really windy day that knocked a lot of the leaves down.  So these were the best I could do, but they’ll give y’all a glimpse into my world.

Looking down towards our driveway entrance

Most of the leaves on the trees around here turn a golden yellow color like these.  We don’t have quite the explosion of different colors that some other places get, but still beautiful nonetheless.

A view down our little road.  You can really see a lot of bare branches in these pictures.  Pretty soon they’ll all be bare.

So that’s a little glimpse of what fall looks like in my area.  I had planned on taking some pictures of the rolling hills around here with all their beautiful shades of golden fall colors, but my camera batteries died.  Sometimes you just can’t win, huh? 

One of the many things I love about living in the country now is that I can see the change of the seasons much more vividly than when we lived in our little city apartment.  And seeing the beautiful fall colors makes me thankful that I live in a place where I get to see them.  I miss my home state of Florida and living in the South more than I can possibly express in words to y’all, but I try to find little bits of joy in this place I call home now.  And you know, if I was in Florida I wouldn’t get to see all this.  I wouldn’t see the leaves change color and watch the wind swirl them around.  I wouldn’t get to look out and see those rolling hills of wheat ready to be harvested as I drive to and from work.  So much beauty around me!

Have a great weekend everyone, and remember to look for the beauty around you and be thankful too!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Colors of Fall

  1. Cat, I love when you post pics of where you live. I envy you!!!! I would love to live in Alberta (or BC). So many trees and so much open land. You’re so lucky. I think I’ll have to wait for retirement before I have that, lol. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. Beautiful!!! It is always nice to see pictures from all around the country. I live in Kentucky, and we usually have beautiful fall leaves, but this year has been so hot and dry that alot of the leaves dried up before turning! Thanks for sharing your pics! 🙂

  3. So beautiful pictures! They remind me of my days in the US.

  4. Thanks for the nice comments! There are definitely worse places I could live, so I’m thankful to live where I do.

  5. lovely pictures! i wish i could live in the country side as i love nature and all its colors. unfortunately, it’s summer all year round in my country, so no changing of colors 😦

Leave a Reply

