Southern Living’s Best Mexican Cornbread

I love cornbread.  In fact, I could probably happily eat it every day.  I do have definite opinions when it comes to the kind of cornbread I like, though (see this post for one of my favorite no frills, down-home cornbreads).  While I generally steer clear of any fancy shmancy cornbreads, one variation that I do really like is Mexican cornbread, and this recipe from my old Southern Living cookbook (acquired from my Aunt Martha, originally my Maw Maw’s.  Don’t you just cherish those cookbooks?  It even has her notes still that she wrote next to cookie recipes that she made for vacation bible school. Whew, this is a long aside!) is my favorite.

I like to make this into muffins, as you can see from the photo, but of course, you can’t go wrong cooking it in your cast iron skillet as well.  This was the perfect thing to go along with the chili I made on a cold night last week. 

I hope to have some photos to share  in my next post of the onset of fall here.  I was going to take some pictures when I got home from work this evening, but it was overcast and not great weather to take pictures of the pretty leaves.  So maybe in the morning I’ll be able to snap some nice pictures and show y’all what it looks like where I live right now 🙂

Mexican Cornbread

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups cornmeal
  • 1 cup canned cream-style corn
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Pour into a greased 10-inch cast-iron skillet.  Bake at 450 degrees for 30 minutes or until done.

2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Side Dishes

2 responses to “Southern Living’s Best Mexican Cornbread

  1. Hello Grand daughter… What a beautiful pan of Mexican corn beard muffins!!!! MawMaw and I just read your blog and looked at th colorful photo. Guess what? We just finished lunch afte we returned from a doctor visit. We had fresh turnip roots, cooked & mashed, CORNBREAD, almost like your except no Mexican veggies this time.
    A Ripe tomato, and an avacado pear. They are on sale now from South Florida for around $1.50 each but you have to be careful that they not overripe. We have a cloudy day but expect rain soon. Storm Nicole is heading for the east coast near us. Your mom may be getting rain now.

  2. Sorry, Beard means BREAD –corn bread, that is

Leave a Reply

