Old-Fashioned Spiced Pear Bread

Just when I was resigning myself to fall, along comes an Indian Summer.  It’ll be getting up past 70 degrees this weekend.  Yes, I know some of y’all will laugh at that and wish that you could have weather that cool (I would be feeling the same if I was back in my home state of Florida), but that’s practically summer weather again for us here.  And I couldn’t be happier! 

Along with the nice weather, lots of fall produce is showing up in the stores here.  Lots of apples and pears coming from British Columbia, our neighboring province.  I had a couple ripe pears that needed to be used, and I found this recipe for pear bread that sounded really good.  It came from Cooks.com, which doesn’t have any sort of description for it’s recipes, but I’m kinda thinking this may be more of an older recipe since mace isn’t really a spice you see around much anymore.  And since I love old-fashioned recipes, I immediately wanted to try it.  I wasn’t disappointed either, this pear bread has a wonderful blend of spices and is very moist from all the chopped pear in it.  Enjoy! 🙂

Old-Fashioned Spiced Pear Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 cup peeled, mashed pears
  • 2 Tb lemon juice
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp mace
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I left these out, but pecans or walnuts would be nice I think)
  • 2 cups peeled, chopped pears

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, eggs, oil, vanilla, mashed pears, and lemon juice.  In another bowl, combine the flour, spices, baking soda, and salt.  Add to the wet ingredients, and stir until well combined.  Fold in the chopped nuts and pears.

Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.  Spoon the batter into the pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 1 hour, or until a knife inserted comes out clean.  Cool in the pan about 10 minutes before turning out onto a rack.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

One response to “Old-Fashioned Spiced Pear Bread

  1. Love the idea of using pears in this bread. What a unique twist.

Leave a Reply

