Sweet and Sour Chicken Stir-Fry

Happy Humpday!  This morning I’m back with a super tasty and really easy stir-fry.  I had planned on making this Monday so that I could post it yesterday.  Then I got promoted at work to a different area that I had really wanted to work in, so we had a little celebration by stopping at Dairy Queen on the way home for a bite to eat and ice cream.

Like all stir-fries, it’s important to prep all your ingredients beforehand.  Have your chicken chopped and your veggies cut up and ready to go before heating your skillet.  Once you’ve got that done, it’ll only take a few minutes to make this recipe.  And it doesn’t call for any fancy or exotic ingredients, so you don’t need to go out and buy an ingredient that you’ll only use once and then never again.  Make some jasmine rice to serve this stir-fry over, and you’ll be all set with a super tasty meal.  Enjoy!

Sweet and Sour Chicken Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1/2 cup EACH sliced red and green bell pepper
  • 1 cup thinly sliced carrot
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 8 oz can pineapple chunks, undrained
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 Tb EACH brown sugar, cornstarch, white vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger

Directions:

Season chicken with salt and pepper.  Cook in skillet over medium-high heat until browned.  Remove and set aside.  Add the bell peppers, carrot, and garlic to skillet.  Cook until they are crisp-tender.  Add the chicken to the skillet along with the can of pineapple chunks.  Whisk together the remaining ingredients and add to skillet.  Cook until sauce thickens.  Serve over rice.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Stove-Top Meals

2 responses to “Sweet and Sour Chicken Stir-Fry

  1. Now that is a winner. Your grand mother loves stir fry. I bought her a large (half globe rounded) pan a few years ago and she loves it. This sound like I would love it, but my usual response when I hear the stir pan on is OOOOH. Not my favorite. I am a Southernor, not an Italian or Mexican. I want my food well boiled and cooked, not half done. But everyone to their own taste. Love vegetables if well cooked, not raw.

    • I didn’t know Mawmaw likes stir fries! I like my vegetables both ways, I like them in things like stir fries, and then I also like to cook them more Southern style. Last week I made some green beans and new potatoes on the stove top that I bet would be something you would like more, Poppa.

Leave a Reply

