Miss Gayle’s Southern Green Bean Salad

I do not know who Miss Gayle is, but I do know that she sure makes a wonderful green bean salad.  This is a recipe that I copied from a little cookbook of my mom’s called Wesson Down-Home Cooking.  The green beans I used in this salad were some of the nicest, freshest green beans I’ve ever had.  They came from the Hutterites, just like the potatoes I used in my ham and cheese potato bake a little while back.  This year is the first time I’ve gotten the opportunity to buy their produce, and let me tell you, they’ve made me a huge fan.  I’ve got a pile of their potatoes in the bin under my microwave cart, and a bag of yellow wax beans in the fridge.  I’d better get cookin!

You can serve this salad warm, but it really is best if you refrigerate it for at least a few hours to let it marinate.  Enjoy!

Miss Gayle’s Southern Green Bean Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 Tb Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh dill
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh parsley
  • 2 lbs fresh green beans

Directions:

Steam grean beens until crisp-tender.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together all remaining ingredients.  Add the green beans and stir well to make sure they are all coated.  Refrigerate at least 2 hours.

This recipe is linked to:

6 Comments

Filed under Salads, Side Dishes, Vegetables

6 responses to “Miss Gayle’s Southern Green Bean Salad

  1. I haven’t had green bean salad in years! Thank you for reminding me of it, and for sharing such a delicious recipe.

  2. Just stopping by from Prairie Story. Your Green Bean Salad looks wonderful and I will have to try your recipe. Thank You…

  3. Another great green bean recipe, thanks so much.

  4. Thank you for sharing! Have you ever heard of the book “I Am Hutterite?” I think you might enjoy it. As well, there is a mention of my mom in the book because she was a teacher who taught the girl (the authour).

  5. Oh I’m bookmarking this right now. I adore green beans, and I love fixing them up different ways. They sound wonderful!

Leave a comment