Crockpot Cookin’: Lemon Roast Chicken

Cooking a whole chicken in the crockpot has got to be one of the all-time easiest meals.  All you have to do is plunk the chicken in the crockpot, season it up a bit, then let it cook low and slow until you’re ready for it.  When you walk in the door after a long day at work, you’ll have a wonderful roast chicken waiting. 

Here’s the little chickie just after I put the lid on.

I don’t know about y’all, but I just love chicken in the crockpot.  As long as it’s cooked properly so it doesn’t dry out, that is.  I like to use my smaller 3 quart crockpot, that way the chicken fits snugly in it, and any juices released during cooking will bubble up around it, keeping it nice and moist.  That works for me because the whole chickens I buy tend to be on the small side, but if you have big chickens, then of course use a larger crockpot.

My chicken was so tender, it started falling apart as soon as I lifted it from the crockpot.  Yum!

If you’ve never tried cooking a chicken in the crockpot, I hope you’ll give this a try!  This recipe for lemon roast chicken is really nice, it comes from my little Rival crockpot cookbook that came with my very first crockpot, but you don’t have to follow this recipe.  Feel free to season up your chicken however you want.  More important than the recipe itself, I just wanted to share the idea of cooking whole chickens in the crockpot for those of you who may never have thought of cooking it this way.  I think you’ll really like it!

Lemon Roast Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken (3 to 4 lbs)
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 Tb fresh parsley
  • dash of paprika

Directions:

Rinse chicken and pat dry.  Place in crockpot liner.  Using your hands, rub the butter all over the outside and under the skin of the chicken.  Cut the lemon in half, and squeeze the juice over the top of the chicken.  Sprinkle on the seasonings.  Put the lid on and cook on low for about 8 hours.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken

One response to “Crockpot Cookin’: Lemon Roast Chicken

  1. Sounds easy. Make me hungry. MM is at the church weeding the shrubbery.

Leave a Reply

