Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

I had originally had a different pasta dish planned for dinner tonight, but then I stopped by the Pioneer Woman’s blog and saw her delicious looking recipe for pasta with tomato cream sauce, and I decided I just had to make that instead.  Then I ended up making so many changes that I’d just about made a whole different recipe, so rather than just linking to her recipe, I’m going to post it here with the changes I made. 

I had some fresh spinach on hand, so I added a few cups worth to the sauce, used half and half instead of heavy cream (I generally cook a little healthier than PW) and I also made it more weeknight friendly by greatly reducing the simmering time.  I also used Ragu pasta sauce instead of regular tomato sauce since I happened to have an opened jar in the fridge.  All in all, this took less than 30 minutes to make from start to finish.  And I must admit that I pretty much inhaled it once it was done.  It was delicious!  I’m going to be putting this recipe in my binder with my other favorite recipes, because this will certainly be made again in the future. 

Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb pasta (I used gemelli pasta)
  • 1 Tb butter
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups chopped fresh spinach
  • 14 ounces of pasta sauce
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain, reserving 1/2 cup or so of pasta water.

Melt butter and olive oil in a saucepan.  Add the onion and cook until softened.  Add garlic, and cook for 1 minute or until fragrant.  Add spinach, and cook until spinach starts to wilt.  Pour in the pasta sauce.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, with the lid on, for 10 minutes.  You want the pasta sauce to be heated through and the onions to be completely softened.  Remove from heat and stir in the half and half. 

To make clean up easy, return the pasta to the pot it was cooked in, then pour in the sauce.  Stir to make sure it’s all coated, adding some of the reserved pasta water if it’s too thick.  Sprinkle servings with Parmesan cheese.

This recipe is linked to:

1 Comment

Filed under Pasta, Stove-Top Meals, Vegetarian

One response to “Pasta with Tomato Cream Sauce

  1. I myself am a huge fan of the pioneer woman myself. This sounds delish. Funny, we had pasta last night too. Might just have to give this one a try. Thanks for linkin up to tasty tuesdays.

Leave a Reply

