Chunky Apple Cake

I’m starting to see lots of apple recipes on my favorite blogs, and I’m going to join the club today too.  I acquired some wonderful apples from a co-worker who, in turn, had been given them by her neighbor, whose apple tree is completely overloaded at the moment.  I decided to use some of them to make this chunky apple cake which is one of my absolute favorite apple desserts.  It is so moist, and the spices are just perfect. 

When you’re mixing the ingredients you’ll have a lot more apples than batter, but don’t worry, that’s the way it’s supposed to look.  And for the sauce, you have two options.  You can serve it over individual pieces, or you can do what I like to do, which is to just pour the sauce over the whole cake and let it soak in some.  Either way, it’s delicious!

I’m sharing this recipe at Mommy’s Kitchen’s Potluck Sunday.

Chunky Apple Cake

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 6 cups chopped, peeled apples

Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (can substitute half&half or evaporated milk)

Directions:

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, and vanilla.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Combine the flour, spices, salt, and baking soda;  gradually add to creamed mixture.  Stir in apples until well combined.

Spread into a greased 13×9 baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until lightly browned and the top springs back when touched.

For the sauce, melt the brown sugar and butter together in a small saucepan.  Gradually add the cream.  Bring to a slow boil over medium heat, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Serve with cake.

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts, Fruit

One response to “Chunky Apple Cake

  1. I have to taste this Apple pie. We also saw youir apple sauce recipe. When I ate my birthday dinner last week I ordered apple sauce as one of my side dishes. We wre both elated at the taste because I know it was fresh made. That was my first apple sauce exceot in the jar or can. Would like to have an apple tree but it is too hot here. Enjy your blogs. Poppa

Leave a Reply

