Chickpea Tomato Salad

It’s funny how our tastes change as we get older.  Up until about a year ago I hated chickpeas, just couldn’t stand them. Something about their texture, I think, was offputting to me. Then  a while back I tried them in a dish and discovered that I actually liked them!  They’re still not my favorite bean, but there are some things I really like them in, such as this salad. 

Even though it’s been cold and rainy here the past few days, I’m still stubbornly making salads!  I refuse to let summer be over yet.  Whatever your weather is, I think you’ll enjoy this recipe too.  And since the tomatoes are just as a big a star in this salad as the chickpeas, I definitely recommend using the best ones you can find.  I’m sure many of you have tomatoes coming out of your garden that would be perfect in this 🙂

Chickpea Tomato Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 lb of fresh tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 2 boiled eggs, chopped
  • 1 cup sweet onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 Tb white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • chopped fresh parsley to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

In a medium sized bowl, combine the chickpeas, tomatoes, eggs, and sweet onion.  Whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over top.  Stir to combine.  Chill before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Salads

One response to “Chickpea Tomato Salad

  1. Oh I just love chickpeas and it’s so funny, three of my favourite blogs today are featuring chickpeas. Three right in a row on my blogroll. Great minds think alike! This sounds fresh and healthy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

