Crockpot Cookin: Cinnamon Applesauce, and The Last Days of Summer

As much as I want to deny it, the signs are all around me:  the last days of summer are flying by, and fall is just around the corner. 

Farmers are harvesting their fields right about now.

The leaves are just starting to change color.

Now, I love fall and the cool, crisp weather.  I love making heart and tummy warming soups and stews.  I just don’t like what comes after fall.  Because around here, we’re usually buried under snow by late November and it doesn’t go away until often late April or even May (this year we got our last snowfall in June!).  That’s an awful long time to see nothing but white, brown, and gray all around.

But there’s still a few wildflowers hanging around, like these.

There’s definitely a nip in the air now, and even though I’m sad to see summer go, today I’m going to share a recipe that will be perfect for you if you’re in the mood for some fall cookin’.  This applesauce couldn’t be easier, it does it’s thing in the crockpot for a few hours, then all you have to do is give it a good mash, and you’re done!  If you’re like me and love homemade applesauce, then you’ll love this recipe.  And if you’ve never made applesauce yourself before, then give this a try!

Slow-Cooked Cinnamon Applesauce

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 lbs Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tb lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Add all ingredients to crockpot, and stir to combine.  Cover, and cook on high for 3 hours.  Use a potato masher to mash to desired consistency.

5 Comments

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Fruit, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Crockpot Cookin: Cinnamon Applesauce, and The Last Days of Summer

  1. I love homemade applesauce Cat but have never made it myself believe it or not. My Mom used to make it all the time when we were growing up and it was the best. Your recipe sounds to easy I should try it.

    I needed a sweatshirt while sitting on my porch this afternoon. First time since last spring. And I agree, I love fall, I just don’t like what comes after it either. Have a great evening!

  2. There is no recipe for apple sauce We are waiting.
    The leaves look good. Fall is coming. Enjoy noiw. I cant wait for the white snow…….

  3. Now we see a recipe. Can you buy peeled apples?

  4. We had pear cobbler tonight. Liz and Gary invited us to a home cooked BBQ dinner for Labor Day. They had all of Gary’s kids and grand kids there along with all of Liz’ family except Matthew. Matthew was on his truck hauling cattle to Alabama or somewhere. We were also having a much needed rain storm. Good food. Love you. Enjoy your blogs

  5. Pingback: Quiche Lorraine | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

