Ham & Cheese Potato Bake

There are some dishes that just define comfort food and, for me, ham and potatoes is one of them.  I mean, really, is there actually anyone out there who doesn’t love ham and potatoes?  It’s one of those dishes that I never get tired of and neither does Jay.  In fact, it was him that put in a request for it and since I wasn’t working that day and had the time, I decided to be a nice wife and make it.

And since I had the time and some lovely new potatoes that were grown by the Hutterites (a group of people in this area similar to the Amish or Mennonites), I used them rather than frozen hashbrown potatoes.  I just cut them into small cubes and boiled them until tender, then proceeded on with the rest of the recipe.

Speaking of the Hutterites, it reminds me of a conversation I had with some co-workers recently about whether we would be able to live such a simplistic lifestyle like they do.  I don’t know if I would or not, but I would love to try.  I really admire that sort of lifestyle and the sense of community and fellowship that they share.  I’m fascinated with it, really.  I’ve often felt like I was born in the wrong time, like I would have fit in better in an earlier time period.  Do any of y’all ever feel that way? I’d love to go back in time to a simpler way of life.

All I have to say about this recipe is that it will be pure comfort in your tummy and maybe make you feel warm and fuzzy inside after eating it.  Especially if you make a salad and homemade applesauce (recipe coming soon) to go with it.

I’m sharing this recipe at the Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap and Recipe Swap Thursday at Prairie Story.

Ham & Cheese Potato Bake

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 8 cups frozen hashbrown potatoes, thawed and patted dry
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped ham
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Whisk in the flour and cook for 1 minute.  Whisk in the milk, salt, and pepper.  Cook over medium heat until bubbly and thickened.

In a large bowl, combine the potatoes, ham, sour cream, cooked sauce, and 1 cup of the cheese.  Spoon into the greased baking dish.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until bubbly and cheese is melted.

Recipe from:  Pillsbury

3 Comments

Filed under Casseroles, Pork

3 responses to “Ham & Cheese Potato Bake

  1. Okay these sound like a great cold evening dinner side. I am already thinking ahead to the fall and serving these maybe with a whole ham to accompany these cheesy potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Mmmmmm comfort food! We are very familiar with Hutterites and many times have wondered the same thing… simple, less stress, community. Very intersting! Thank you for sharing your recipe @ Prairie Story Recip Swap!

  3. Pingback: Miss Gayle’s Southern Green Bean Salad | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

