Rosemary Breadstick Twists

Happy Sunday!  I hope everyone is having a great weekend.  Today’s recipe comes from my third recent cookbook acquisition, the Land O’ Lakes Treasury of Country Heritage Meals & Menus.  These breadsticks will make your kitchen smell heavenly while baking.  I have to say that rosemary is an herb that I’m a bit picky about, but one thing that I do love it in is in baked goods.  A great thing about these breadsticks is that they’re a quick bread not a yeast bread, so there’s no rising involved, and you can whip up a batch pretty quickly. 

I actually  made these for a meal later on this week.  I let them cool a bit then stuck them in a ziploc bag and put that in the freezer.  I’ll just pull them out later this week when I need them.  Planning ahead is crucial for me to make sure a proper dinner gets put on the table during the busy work week, which is why I write out a detailed meal plan for the week and try to get as much prep work as I can done on my days off. 

This recipe calls for dried rosemary, but since I have a rosemary plant growing on the deck I used fresh.  If you want to use fresh as well, you’ll need 1 Tb of it.

Stay tuned because I’ve got lots of great recipes that I can’t wait to share this week with all of you! 🙂

I’m sharing this recipe at Mommy’s Kitchen’s Potluck Sunday.

Rosemary Breadstick Twists

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tb grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Melt the butter in a small bowl in the microwave.  Stir in the rosemary and garlic.  Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the flour, Parmesan cheese, sugar, and baking powder.  Stir in the milk just until moistened.  Turn dough out onto a floured surface, and knead 10 times or until smooth.  Roll out into a 12×6-inch rectangle.  Cut into 12 (1 inch) strips.  Twist each strip of dough 6 times.  Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Brush the herbed butter mixture over the breadsticks.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned.

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Breads

3 responses to “Rosemary Breadstick Twists

  1. I can just imagine how these would smell baking! How do you like the Land O’ Lakes Treasury of Country Heritage Meals & Menus book?

  2. I love it! Along with my new Pillsbury cookbook, it’s quickly becoming one of my favorites. It’s got a large variety of different recipes, and it breaks them up into categories like brunches, simple suppers, elegant fare, etc. I recommend it 🙂

  3. They sound and look just awesome!

Leave a Reply

