Crockpot Cookin’: Hamburger and Noodle Soup

This is the second recipe in a row that I’ve made from my new Pillsbury One-Dish Meals Cookbook.  I can’t help it, it’s my favorite cookbook right now!  This soup is easy, delicious, and full of vegetables.  I got it ready in the crockpot before leaving for work, and when I came home all I had to do was add the noodles and let it cook for another 20 minutes, giving me plenty of time to make some garlic bread to go with.  It was a great weeknight dinner.

I did make one substitution in the recipe.  I didn’t have the beefy mushroom soup mix, so I used a packet of onion gravy mix, and it worked out great.

Hamburger and Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, sliced
  • 1 pkg beefy mushroom soup mix
  • 14 (ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 cups frozen vegetables
  • 1 cup uncooked fine egg noodles (I used whole wheat spaghettini)

Directions:

In a large skillet, brown ground beef until cooked through.  Drain well.  Add to crockpot along with remaining ingredients except for the noodles.  Cover and cook on low for 8 hours. Stir in the noodles.  Turn setting to high, and cook another 15-20 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Crockpot Meals, Soups/Stews

Leave a Reply

