Tuscan Chicken Pizza

I’ve mentioned previously that pizza is one of my favorite things to make.  I love coming up with new combinations.  The inspiration for this one came from one of my recent thrift store cookbooks acquisitions,  the 100 Best Favorite Brand Name Recipes cookbook.  In it there is a recipe for Tuscan Chicken and Pasta.  I liked the ingredients in the recipe, but I really wanted pizza not pasta, so I did a little tweaking here and there to come up with this yummy pizza that I think you will really like too.

This pizza is healthy and a good way to use up some of that extra zucchini you may have.  I only have one zucchini plant, so I’m not exactly hauling in bucket loads from the garden, but I do have a few good sized ones I picked recently that need to be used.  So I’ve been eyeing up other yummy zucchini recipes to try on some of my favorite blogs, and they may end up making an appearance here too!

Tuscan Chicken Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 pre-baked pizza crust (or make your dough from scratch)
  • 3/4 cup pizza sauce
  • 2 chicken breasts, cubed
  • 1 medium zucchini, cut into matchsticks
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 cup shredded provolone cheese (or mozzarella)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Season chicken with salt and pepper then brown in skillet. Spread pizza sauce over crust, then top with chicken, zucchini, sun-dried tomatoes, and provolone cheese.  Bake for 15-20 minutes or until heated through and cheese is melted.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pizza

Leave a Reply

