Do Nothing Cake

Okay, you actually do have to do a little something to make this cake, but since I didn’t give it that name, I’ll just leave it as is.  It is actually a very easy cake to make, though, as easy as a boxed cake except there is no box in sight!

I really wanted to make something sweet today, but even though I am feeling much better after having been sick all last week, I still didn’t really feel like standing in the kitchen making a super involved recipe.  This one had been saved in my Food.com recipe box for quite some time and thought it was high time I finally made it.  And I’m glad I did!  This one will be written down to keep in my recipe binder because I’ll definitely make it again.  This is one of those cakes that would be great to take to a church dinner or potluck, I think.  Hope you enjoy it too!

I should have some more new recipes to share with y’all this week as well.  Before I got sick I bought a couple new cookbooks from my local Goodwill.  So I’m planning on trying a few new recipes from them and hopefully have some yummy things to share soon!

Do Nothing Cake

Ingredients:

Batter:

  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 16 oz crushed pineapple, undrained

Icing:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (or other nut of your choice)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Whisk together all batter ingredients until combined.  Pour into a greased 13×9 baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes or until done.  Using a fork or kabob skewer, poke holes in the cake (this was not included in the original instructions, but I really suggest doing it).

For the icing, heat the butter, sugar, and evaporated milk in a small saucepan until boiling.  Cook and stir for about 5 minutes, or until slightly thickened (Mine never did thicken, but the final result still turned out fine).  Remove from heat and stir in the coconut and pecans.  Pour over the hot cake, spreading it out to make sure it’s all evenly dispersed.  Allow cake to cool for a bit before cutting.  Due to the icing seeping into the cake, it is very moist!

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Do Nothing Cake

  1. This cake looks insanely good Cat! I’m a huge coconut fan. Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. Yummo! This cake sounds like a winner, I will definitely have to give this one a try! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

